Mercedes code resetter needed, must be really easy to use

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by DavidG58, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,190
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Morning all

    Following from my not going to mend it tread, it has been suggested from various quarters that carrying a resetting thingie could be useful and sensible, however, we are talking about me having to use this thing, I have broken more things than I can remember trying to mend them, in quite a few cases things that weren't even broken till I tried to mend it :)

    So it needs to be dead easy to fit and even easier to use

    I have been told that some have wireless interface to readers / resetting bit, that sounds good rather than ferretting under the carpets all the time for the can bus connection

    In the whole scheme of where I am it doesn't need to be the cheapest, a few £'s more for the easiest would be OK

    Ideally comments from someone who has already bought and used one, always out trumps hearsay for me, particularly if used on a Mercedes Sprinter (y)
     
  2. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
  3. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi David Paul bought a bluetooth interface (aprox £5 ) off ebay and software for his phone for £3.50 -Leaves interface connected to van and simply uses phone -took him about two mins to fit and played with software for another couple of mins :xThumb:so that means a couple of hour for me :xgrin::xgrin::xgrin:
    terry
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Oh BTW David been thinking about your problem -would it be a case of removing top of dash to get to turbo ????sounds like it may be a easier answer to gain easy access -no idea if it would work but may be worth looking at---EDIT bet Bev COULD PLAY WITH THE SOFTWARE :xgrin:
    terry
     
  5. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,190
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I thank you for the link but can't answer the other techie questions, (sorry), age of Merc is also unclear, we think Hymer turned it into a MH in 07, the tyres were dated 06 when we got it second hand registered 59, so best guess is 06/ early 07

    3.0 litre with auto box, twin axle if any of that matters / helps
     
  6. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,804
    Likes Received:
    5,650
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Think those type use a small amount of current if left connected onto the plug ?
     
  7. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,190
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I did query on here about dash off, my workshop thought it but are not at all keen on doing it!!

    No definitive answer here, but concerns that it may all be bonded

    As for playing with software, you re right Bev would be better than me but we are not good at that sort of thing

    Needs to be really, really easy :):)
     
  8. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,356
    Likes Received:
    21,738
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Just have a good snout around to see if you can find something like this hidden away

    [​IMG]

    It could be anywhere on or under the dash..
    If you can find that then it is a standard EOBD socket and one of the cheapo readers will be just fine

    I used mine on an 11 plate Merc a couple of weeks ago to reset the air bag light and the O2 sensor fault
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. jaygee

    jaygee Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    718
    Location:
    Harwich, Essex
    Hi David
    with regards to your problem M/H may i suggest you try ADS (automotive diagnostic solutions) it is run by Frank Massey and his son, google it.
    They are well know in the trade and write for several mags as well as running there own training courses.
    HTH
    Tony
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,356
    Likes Received:
    21,738
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    In fact here ya go.. this should help
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,356
    Likes Received:
    21,738
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    This is from a later van

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Worry not, if yours, like mine, came with a little push on, push off switch. Or, do as I do, switch it off, then unplug it. :xrofl:
     
  13. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    From the seller's description:

    3).VEHICLE COVERAGE:

    • GM '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • Ford '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • Chrysler '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • Toyota '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • Honda '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • NISSAN '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • All other Asian and European '96 - Current Year (OBD-II)
    • All new CAN protocol cars.
    Note: not fit for diesel cars

    So if that's correct, no good for a diesel Merc Sprinter. Seems odd though - I thought the diagnostic system was standard across both petrol & diesel, but maybe not.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,190
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    @TheCaller thanks I had sort of picked that up, at first it looked like it was only suitable for Audi

    Have asked them if they do one for a Sprinter (y)
     
  15. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,804
    Likes Received:
    5,650
    Location:
    Weegeland
    On/off switch......what a show off :xgrin:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    13,815
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Our diagnostic socket thingy (see how technical I am!) is in the glove box in the car :)
     
  17. Doctor Dave

    Doctor Dave Funster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    • Like Like x 2
  18. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    6,540
    Location:
    south shields
    I'm sure you are sick of all the various advice...but when I read @jaygee post it reminded me of the post I made about getting a good scope operator to have a look...
    Frank masses was highly regarded by pico scope lads who I did a course with a few years back..
    I agree it really would be worth at least getting in touch..
    Ta Andy. .
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Dont know if this will help to find socket
     
    • Like Like x 3
  20. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,190
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    plumber has just sprayed our router with water (don't ask) having to use phone as dongle, virtually no connection, will hopefully be back tomorrow :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page