max watts for ehu ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by greyman1, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. greyman1

    greyman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    manchester
    my van only has a gas hob [no grill] so i am looking to buy a couple of low wattage elec items to suppliment when i am on ehu. i have come across a 600 watt microwave and a 800 watt toaster and 900watt kettle they are all described as being suitable for camping etc . what concerns me, is that they may be ok for use on uk sites with 10 amp but the last time i was in france some of the ehus were only 6amp, [infact i think some sites here knock their supply down to stop people running heaters !] so would these wattages be ok on 6amp, can i only use one at a time? is there a max watt formula ? thanks.
     
  2. Chas17

    Chas17 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Burnham on Sea
    amps x volts = watts.

    6amps x 230volts = 1320 watts

    etc.
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Divide the watts by the voltage (230) to give the amps..

    for example.. an 800watt appliance will draw 3.5amps

    or to keep it simple and as a rule of thumb, every 100watts draws ~ 0.5amp
     
  4. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,341
    Likes Received:
    7,603
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    The one item that you need to watch is the microwave...
    Generally they take a larger current on start up, between an extra 50 -100%.
    So a 600w may draw 900 - 1200 watts at start... This is usually fine and hence why you see 500 and 600 watt advertised as camping..

    Whenever possible aim to be as close to 1000w per appliance as possible and you will be ok..
    Worse case is you can run one at a time if you have low amps...
     
  5. greyman1

    greyman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    manchester
    thanks guys i now need to break it to my other half that her super turbo hair dryer wont be coming away with us [i better put my tin hat on !!!!!]
     
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,341
    Likes Received:
    7,603
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    PLEASE.... Dont start the hair dryer debate again,,,:Doh:

    ps.. you can get some low wattage ones, just to keep the peace:thumb:
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,349
    Likes Received:
    21,731
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    true, but 4 hours of hair drying can be a tad tiring !! ( I speak from bitter experience.. Woman has one hell of a mop of long, VERY thick hair :Doh: )
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,021
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 4
  9. spforeman

    spforeman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    east yorkshire
    our ehu are 16 amp, but we do have problems, especially when the wether is cold / wet / horrid with people tripping fuses, main prob seems to be with water heaters / kettle / microwave being turned on at the same time. Have put up sign showing how many amps / watts are used by electrical appliancies so MH & caravanners can have a quick read whilst using the loo :Cool: nothing worse that going out in the rain reseting fuses & then trying to locate the source of the problem. a great question by the way, wish more people would ask.
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    That was a problem I solved by installing an Owl power monitor.. it has an alarm which you can set to suit the available power... (on a 16A EHU I would set it to 3kw , that gives a bit of slack )... once installed, no more trips to the fuhrers bunker at silly o'clock ..

    there are other makes, all easy to fit and they don't require any electrical wiring as the transmitter sensor clips around the incoming live or neutral .. from about £30

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page