Iboost By Motorhomewifi

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Clive, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    Tried a few times since I've been away to connect to a network, without any luck. Today sitting in Bordeaux I can see the aerial about 30' away, laptop, phone and tablet can all happily connect to it but not my IBoost. Followed the instruction about 5 times now, feeling like hitting it with a hammer because all I get is internet not available. Guess I'm going something wrong but what? help :mad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    You fail to say who your trying to connect to!
    If it's SFR with FON then sorry to tell you, but you cannot. I tried for days and whilst I could connect direct using my laptop and iPhone the iBoost would not open the web page to login. I'm currently sitting in UK using BT with FON on iBoost system and works a treat.

    Perhaps motohomewifi will read this and come up with a "fix"
     
  3. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ive just had similar problems getting onto WiFi with my hudll at a site in huelgoat France where chrome automatically goes to google for its home page rather than the sign on screen I found that in settings /WiFi a small question mark appears at the top of the page once connection is made dragging this down opened the login page
    I've not had this before and hope it may help you
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    That a new one on me...... I tried Chrome, firefox, Safari and nothing, will look for that on return trip.
     
  5. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    It's the free campsite wifi this time. So far I've no luck with SFR Fon either, can never get to the logon page. At the moment feels like a complete wast of money. Did try emailing them with some MiFi issues but they obviously don't like answering me :( because I've never had a reply.
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    just recently bought the iBoost, so will be following this with some interest as we are off to France in July
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,512
    Location:
    kent
    I have never had any problems with my I boost abroad. I haven't tried connecting to SFR Fon though.

    Sounds like you might be doing something wrong Clive because it definitely isn't a waste of money.

    Try switching off and starting from scratch.
     
  8. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    Done that more times than I can think of, followed all the instructions but never get anything on the RX/TX
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,742
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Well I'm sorry you are having problems but glad someone else is having trouble with fon , iv tried to connect to it till I'm blue in the face for best part of 4 years now, iv done everything that addie on here has recommended and googled it and everything I can think of and can never ever get it to do anything.
     
  10. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,742
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Saying that , some on here think it's the best thing since sliced bread(n)
     
  11. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    which is why I bought it
     
  12. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,512
    Location:
    kent
    Are you sure everything is plugged in correctly?

    I can honestly say I have never had any problems using site wifi, both here and abroad.
     
  13. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    Yes pretty dam sure, I get to everything but the log on. I actually programme finance systems so not a computer virgin :D This is why I think there's a little undocumented feature that I'm falling foul of
     
  14. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,512
    Location:
    kent
    Is it displaying available wifi in the locality?

    If it isn't and you are that close to the aerial then I was just wondering if your aerial was properly connected that's all.
     
  15. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    Yes I can see everything, it goes through all the steps but I just can't connect :cry:
     
  16. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,562
    Likes Received:
    25,740
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I suspect they haven't got your email.

    I am also pretty sure they will reply as soon as they do.

    I was with a Funster early this year and, being nosy, went through the set up instructions on their new IBoost with them.

    We had a spot of bother too but eventually found we were typing information in the wrong place...

    I sure you will get sorted soon.

    JJ :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    837
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    Have you tried the "change" button at the bottom?

    Joe
     
  18. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,561
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    If the aerial is only 30 feet away can you not connect directly to it from your tablet or whatever you are using? This will show if there is a working WiFi signal.

    And I've never had anything from MotorhomeWiFi but exemplary service and advice so I don't know what's happening to your emails. Perhaps you need to connect to a network. :D
     
  19. Clive

    Clive Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    that's how I'm writing this :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    12,135
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    not sure from your post if you have ever used it yet

    connect to the iboost option, then type http://10.20.30.40/ in box at top of page (I am sure it has a name)

    that should open the iboost menu to log in and search for options, then as posted above chose and change

    (y)
     
Loading...

Share This Page