How to Refill AdBlue in Fiat Ducato? (1 Viewer)

May 9, 2023
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Summit Prime 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Help please?
It's a Fiat Ducato and tells me I need to top up AdBlue soon. The dashboard looks like half empty. I've never done this before and I'm in France.
Can I top up at a filling station pump or do I need to buy a (probably plastic) can of AdBlue?
Or what?

CAB96

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 31, 2021
Stockport, UK
Funster No
MH
T6 Leisuredrive
Exp
3+
The US might have only band the use of Chrysotile Asbestos/White Asbestos YESTERDAY (18th March 2024) but AdBlue or DEF (Diesel Exhaust Fluid) has been mandatory in heavy diesel vehicles since 2010, yep surprised me.
Though saying band, manufacturers have 10 years to source and implement replacement material.

AdBlue/DEF is also on the diesel pick-up trucks but at 6.7L they are pretty much lorries. Not sure what the thought process was but watch a guy full up his GMC Dinali with diesel, drive off, turn round and come back to the DEF pump. Seems the fuel filler is rear left and DEF in under the bonnet on the right. Being short he had some trouble getting the nozzle into the DEF tank.

Walmart is the cheapest we've found $10 for 9.5L, cheaper than any pump price I've see.
They do another brand that is $23 why would you?
Going to bring back a couple of the containers and refill using pumps as that is the cheapest way I've seen it in Europe. Not seen pumps in UK but presume they'll appear at some point..
Seems a bit over the top to save a few quid? But unlikely to be nicked en voyage I suppose.

10l is a Tenner delivered on Ebay.

Edit: apologies, gone up a bit since October, £12.75 now.

Upvote 0
Oct 18, 2022
South West
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin
Exp
Since 1992
For those who might be tempted….advice in the Fiat Ducato Manual is NOT to use any additives with AdBlue.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jul 29, 2022
Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 599 S