Hi All !! another new one here :0) (1 Viewer)

D

DunHoming

Deleted User
Hi,

Im Paul a 51 year old ex mechanic married for 30 yrs to Denise. 3 sons blah,blah ::bigsmile:

4 years or so back got ourselves a great old Merc powered Autotrail Apache, one of the green and white coachbuilt ones.

Just attracted me by its purposeful classic camper looks.. and to be honest for an old van it was and is very well fitted out. Im not an expert on campers but I think in 1991 it must have been one of the better MH's out there. And I shall miss it a lot in all honesty.

anyways, the old girl.. Wilma the Merc that is not the wife !! has done stirling service and taken us all over Europe and the Brit Isles. We put 28000 very happy miles on the old bus. and she never ever failed us. just regular servicing etc and replacement of any bits as and when needed. ( this is similar to wifey !!)

but as with most things it came to pass that we wanted better and newer.. lets hope this pans out to be true, and have bought a new to us 2004 Bessacar E760 lo-line

So now its time to upgrade "Betty" the bessacarr to my hearts content and once again has some great holidays and weekends away in it.

Although the biggest mod I did to the old MH was a TB turbo-intercooler upgrade the new machine being a Ducato 2.8TDI is a revelation, cant wait till I ask the age old question of whether chipping or remapping is the way to go !!!!

that kind of talk was way over the head of me and my old trusty Merc 208D :Smile:

Cheers all, Paul V.

p.s. anyone think I perhaps may have more than a passing remblance to Fred Flintstone ? I have just realised my wife named MH no1 "Wilma" and no2 "Betty"

lets hope its not because she looks like Barney Rubble :Doh:

kickstart

Free Member
Dec 13, 2008
south yorkshire, Benidorm
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
4 years