Help with my Huawei WiFi E5330

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by colyboy, Jun 16, 2016.

  1. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    519
    Some on here suggested I bought a Huawei E5330, which I have. On our recent trip around France it worked brilliantly. I was able to receive e-mails and was also able to get on to websites but was unable to send any emails.

    help please

    colyboy
     
  2. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Location:
    East Sussex
    How do you send emails?
    Are the emails sitting in your outbox?
     
  3. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    Cumbria
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    519
    Robert, Yes the emails are sitting in my outbox. I am using the Huawei with my IPad.

    colyboy
     
  5. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    519
    namwaldog, Thanks for the info.. I am still confused . I have registered the Huawei but have miss laid my password they give the chance to change my password, BUT will not me allow me to do this.
    colyboy
     
  6. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Password is printed on the inside of the back cover
     
  7. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Don't really see what the mifi thingy has got to do with your emails, all it does is connect you to the Internet much the same as your router at home it's you iPad or whatever that deals with your emails.
     
  8. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Looking on the Huwei website it looks like there is a known issue with this model and the port numbers it uses for sending email - just needs a quick change I believe
     
  9. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    If you are using an email client to access emails, rather than a browser page, then you have to set up details of the sending server on the client. Using a mini you are accessing the server over the mobile network and it requires a different port setting than that required when access is made over the fixed network.

    If you change from mifi to conventional WiFi then you will have to change the settings each time you change. For this reason it is often preferred to use a browser rather than a client when there are no settings to be concerned with.

    Hope this is understandable.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    519
    Robert. Thanks again, what the hell is "port numbers" how do I change them?

    colyboy
     
  11. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Location:
    East Sussex
  12. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    What are you using to send and receive emails?
     
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Don't really know anything about all these ports and stuff, but we used one of these things in France on three feel at home, and never had any bother at all with emails on iPad, Windows phone , and android tablet, just the same as being at home.
     
  14. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    @chaser how do you access your emails
     
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Don't know, just whatever came with the iPad, yahoo mail on android tablet, and Windows Mail on phone, never been a problem , I have a btinternet, email a gmail email and a hotmail and they all just work(y)
     
  16. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Hello Colyboy. This is how I would change the Port numbers on my Ipad 1 ...

    1. Press the settings icon (the one that looks like a cog)
    2.Press on 'Mail, Contacts, Calenders' and this will open on the right hand side a page that lists the accounts set up on the Ipad.
    3. Press on the Account name you want to change.and this will bring up a new page that gives the details of the Account such as Name, Email etc. At the bottom of this page you will see 'Outgoing Mail Server' with 'SMTP' below it
    4 Press on 'SMTP' and a new page opens at the top of which is 'Primary Server' under which is listed your outgoing server. In my case it is 'smtp.outlook.com'.
    5. Press on your Primary Server name and a new page opens listing the details of the server the bottom of which is 'Server Port' followed by a number. This number is the one you need to change. Make a note of the default settings Port Number and then change it by touching the screen just after the number which puts the flashing cursor there. Backspace to delete it then type in the new Port Number 465, or 485 or 587 one at a time and then press 'Done' on Top Right Hand Corner.
    Go back to your Home Screen and try and send an email. If it doesn't work with 465, try again with 485 and then 587 until one of them works.
    6 If none of them work repeat the steps again and type in your default Server Port number and you are back to where you started.

    I hope this helps. It sounds more frightening than it is!
     
  17. EssexBoy

    EssexBoy Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    South Essex
    I think the issue is more related to the email provider you use...

    Some email providers use standard connection settings and some use "autodiscover" functionality so your devices can work out for themselves how to send and receive email.

    However, some providers (like mine) use odd settings or don't use autodiscover. Then you have to set up your email server connections manually...
     
Loading...

Share This Page