faulty fridge

Discussion in 'Bessacarr' started by theresa, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
    we have a N180 fridge that has died on us (great):cry: fault14 comes up on the display, in the handbook it says this means display board and power board lost communicatin. we are in spain at the moment and its warm here so really need the fridge , hopeing to find a thetford agent near here , we are at bonterra park in benicassim. has anyone on here had this fault , any advice guys please :Blush:
     
  2. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
  3. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    5,561
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Could be, and sounds like a simple loose connection between the two:thumb:
    It could of course also mean one or other of the boards have past away:cry:
    Geo
     
  4. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
  5. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    your welcome Theresa:thumb:
     
  6. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
  7. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
     
  8. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    good luck with the repair when you have had it done post on here what the problem was it may help someone.Silly question but I have read with Swift problems with battery charger/12 volt system can give fault 14 so check 12 volt system a good idea perhaps
     
  9. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
    yes over half did check 12volt system and it was o,k , the fridge was on gas when it went wrong , will post when ,and if its fixed tomorrow , going to cook some deforsted bugers and chips now lol :Blush: oh and runny icecream for after
     
  10. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    Thetford Fridge

    Fault 14 is as you say communication breakdown between boards which will have to be replaced to do this the fridge will have to come out as you cant access from the vents


    Bill :thumb:
     
  11. Supertractorman

    Supertractorman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    3
    My fridge stopped working on gas, put it on electric then 12v, and it worked OK, so disconnected gas cylinder which still had good pressure, but connected to new cylinder and it started to work. Just wonder if there was an air lock on gas line as have had no problem since and used the old cylinder of gas later.
     
  12. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
    this daft fridge is a all singing all danceing thing (which is not working:Doh:) and i cant select anything , not like the one in our old van where you just turn a knob to the setting you want like gas 12v or mains , its all done with one button , wish it was just a simple thing like a air lock in the gas line , i think that one of the boards has gone wrong , there maybe one in the top of the door ,where the display panel is . how they will take the fridge out if not ,god only knows :cry:darn thing is so big:Eeek:
     
  13. theresa

    theresa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near falmouth cornwall
    well just had the fridge fixed , they had to slide the fridge out and a wire had come out of a connector that is under the fridge , so we are all up and running again . thanks to coach graft leisure at scorrier . :thumb::thumb: first class service from them :thumb:
     
  14. walburga

    walburga Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Leyland
    We could've saved you all that messing about carrying ice from Lidl every day.
    Me, Barry, & Eric had an axe and a jemmy. It would've been out in a jiffy while Joe was on his back under the van friggin the waste valve.
    You & Eileen (guarded by Rusty & his german pals from next door) could've been gassing & supping gallons of tea while we wrecked / fixed the fridge !

    Anyway, glad you got back and all is ok.

    Allen & Eileen
     
  15. iceni

    iceni Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Birmingham
    if you have the underseat power supply box for the mains make sure someone hasnt stowed stuff in the locker and knocked one of the rocker switches off.

    Phill
     

Share This Page