Electrolux fridge freezer

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Muffinn, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. Muffinn

    Muffinn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester
    I have a very good Electrolux AES 11 RM 6505.

    My concern is that it is meant to be "wise" enough to know where to get its power source from. However, when plugged into mains it is only happy for a while then it decides that it wants to run off gas. Any idea why?

    I have a fully charged one year old leisure battery so it can't be that.

    Any ideas gratefully received.

    Thanks
     
  2. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    When plugged into the mains you should be running from your charger so 12volt should be OK, regardless of battery state. Sounds to me more like a board on the fridge that is playing up.
    Just had a second thought could it be the 240v element, try switching to 240v and see if that works OK.



    Dave:thumb::thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  3. Muffinn

    Muffinn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester
    Interesting and helpful.

    I am not sure I can switch to 240 as it all happens automatically I think.

    Your comment about the charger is interesting as the charger has stopped working, which hasn't worried me as the roof panel does the job of keeping the battery in top condition. I tried an external charger to check the other day and it was only on for a minute or two before saying fully charged.

    The charger is awkwardly sited under the passenger seat, the fuse is still Ok so assume it must be the charger at fault?
     
  4. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    If it's the same working as my AES you can switch to any mode and auto on the off/on switch. With a light showing which mode you are in, gas,12v,240,auto think that's the order only going from memory.


    Dave:thumb::thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  5. Muffinn

    Muffinn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester
    Nothing so helpful I'm afraid - the on button and the five lights denoting how low you want the temperature but nothing else to tell you which mode you are in - until the red light comes on saying it's not using electricity and wants the gas turning on!
     
  6. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    Sorry you must have an earlier model you should be able to get a manual on download from Electrolux via the web if you google it if you don't have one.

    Best of luck

    Dave:thumb::thumb:
     
  7. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    I have a very similar Fridge/Freezer with AES.

    There is an in-line switched outlet in the mains line of ours.That went faulty once and was replaced.

    Is it anything to do with the polarity of the hookup?

    I always carry a polarity checker.

    You haven't got an excessive voltage drop on the mains line (You didn't say if this happens when running other 220-240 v ac equipment)Might be worth measuring the voltage at the appliance with, and without, other electric appliances running.

    I have found both polarity AND voltage variations from site to site even though they do have to have them checked.

    Steve,
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  8. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    I have the same fridge which is doing excatly the same, keeps switching to gas even though 240v is there. Have had it all checked out and the answer is a new circuit board. Am having it fitted next week so will let you know.

    ken
     
  9. Muffinn

    Muffinn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester
    Interesting suggestions - thanks.
    Re Polarity and voltage drop I have checked and this happens at home when its plugged in too.
    Re Circuit board - I assume this is in the fridge? How much were you quoted?
    Cheers
     
  10. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    Sorry about delay in replying. Circuit board cost is £140.00 plus fitting which is quite easy as it is behind the top control panel.

    ken
     
Loading...

Share This Page