Download Limits

Discussion in 'Computers' started by EthnGeoff, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. EthnGeoff

    EthnGeoff Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    County Durham
    When arranging internet provision at home I automatically go for unlimited broadband, but to be honest I have no idea how much I use each month and whether I could comfortably get away with a reduced download limit. Is there a system for monitoring my broadband usage each month?
    Geoff.
     
  2. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Moray Firth
    I have been using Networx since the beginning of the year and it seems to provide all the info required (and it's FREE :Smile:) You can download it at www.softperfect.com/products/networx/

    Phil

    Oops the link doesn't work - Google NETWORX and you should get to it
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  4. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Does your internet provider have a monitoring system you can use? I use idNet and get a daily RSS feed showing my usage to date and projected cumulative usage by the end of the month if the previous pattern continues.

    By the way, I do not believe there is a 'free lunch' in the world of internet provision and although many providers advertise 'unlimited downloads' they have a 'fair usage' clause in the T&C which allows them to throttle you and slow down your broadband if they think you are using too much. That's why I went with idNet. I have a download limit after which, I pay a bit extra, in blocks of usage, but there is a guarantee of no speed throttling.
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Free, I like free. Thanks, looks well worth a try.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just downloaded it Brian....simple:thumb: dashboard and easy to use.
     
  7. EthnGeoff

    EthnGeoff Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    County Durham
    Not that I'm aware of, I get internet from the post office as Effy works there and so gets a discounted rate. I suppose it could be counter productive to ISP's if their customers could see that they didn't need unlimited download capacities.
    Geoff.
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I have unlimited and never had any issues with the service slowing,l and we do download a lot, use it for streaming TV .. etc

    but out of interest downloaded and tried, but it wouldn't monitor the router (rather than just my laptop .. )

    error message: router does not support SNMP ..

    so not much use to me when I have six devices using the net..
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    set mine to monitor all traffic at the wifi router Jim.

    in the last three hours we've used 14 Mb....and we were out for an hour of that :RollEyes:
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    what router do you have John ?

    Mine is a Netgear
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Thomson speedtouch, as provided by AOL around 8 years ago.

    well actually a replacement but the same make and model as original.
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    and you have the software set to monitor the router ?
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    as far as i can tell, yes.

    screen shot of monitor.....monitored interfaces at bottom of screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Aha !!! i see where you're coming from Jim.

    i get the same message when i 'click monitior router rather than this computer'.:Doh:
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    yes.. that's what I was meaning ...

    I'm going to read the FAQs to see if there is a solution ..

    Just read this.. and I don't understand this bit

     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Howard H
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    413

Share This Page