Dont know what to do. Dome or Folding Satellite System

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by pkurzok, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. pkurzok

    pkurzok Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    australia
    give your 5 pence worth on this problem
    i am about to invest good chunk of my pounds on a satellite system which will be auto (as i am to thick to handle manual) should i go dome or not dome. i will be traveling all over europe for this next 5 years. and are any brand better than others
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,874
    Likes Received:
    76,311
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    A couple of years ago i would have said avoid the domes, but I think they are much better than they used to be. For coverage and system adviice I would ring Roadpro, a years or so ago, the boss of that company did extensive testing of a couple of systems over a lot of Europe. They will give you good advice too, they are an excellent company:thumb:
     
  3. Brian and Jo

    Brian and Jo Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    3,834
    Location:
    oswestry,shropshire
    satellite

    hi there,we have had both over the years and at present have a dish but they are very prone to movement in a strong wind.if we ever change our system i would go for a dome.like Jim said they have improved 10fold over the last 2 or three years :Wink: regards brian jo & josh:thumb:
     
  4. davidallan

    davidallan Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Leeds
    Dome sat...

    IMHO try and go for the 'Dome' system. We've had both types over some few years and the Camos 40 Dome has served us very well. Even had some Freesat stations down along the Spanish/Med south coast From Roses nearly to Malaga...did not expect anything:RollEyes:
    There are a few different types/makes of domes aaaaand the wind does not affect them.
    I did in fact install ours [ being a major DIY / Bodger/Pratler] - and it presented no real problems...just make sure the Hole thro the roof is in the correct place and super water protected/sealed etc. 4+ years on & NO problems so far..Otherwise leave that to the Pros'.

    ...PS Thank goodness we lost 'Neighbours' amongst the few stations we eventualy lost on our 8 week EU trip !!
    My wife not too happy tho':cry:
     
  5. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Read a book






    I'll get me coat
     
  6. thefman

    thefman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    notts
    Hi save youself some money and get a camos flat sat pro
    it is manual but it's easy takes a couple of mins
    plus they are great in the wind and fold flat to the roof
    £500 ish

    Mark.
     
  7. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    watched the flats being lowered at Lincoln

    I have a dome, fitted by VanBitz..first class job.

    At Lincoln I saw the flat (dish) type being lowered due to the wind... not us, we had the dome running when ever we wanted. Rain can effect them same as a normal dish. Had mine working in the South of France on free to air .. it is a NETA. Had it just over year now and found it to be good.

    Suggest you look about and see prices. Also I would make sure who ever fits it takes in to consideration where it is located as I know one owner (Rick - Motor roamin) has had one fitted on his RV and it is a target for over hanging trees as the company fitted it without a lot of thought on the UK near side. Plus I know he has had no end of problems with it due to having two TV's and gets engine interferance when in motion (sat in motion system) The compnay who fitted had to attend to it at Bath & West and he had to yet again speak to them at Lincoln (no names .. but I am sure Rick would tell you what he thinks of the company).. mine is use on a site only type and has no in motion facility.

    By the way Van Bitz checked my roof installation without being asked when I was in last for another job to be done to make sure it was all safe and sound... now that is what service is about... They were fitting a pole to pole unit and were in a locker and I wondered why they were up the gantary over the roof.. told just making sure all is OK and applying additional fixings - due to a tree strike on another motor home - after sales service at its best.

    NETA have provided now a new slimmer control box (latest version) but I have found it fast to aquire sats and does all I ask of it. ..recommended

    Bob:thumb:
     
  8. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,754
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I have a Neta dome and it works fine. Only trouble with any roof fixed system is if signal is blocked by trees etc on site.
    I have also an old sky dish on a tripod so that I can move it around on difficult sites :thumb:
     
  9. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    I have a Camos Flat Sat Plus and it must be simple because I can use it. Great reception, fast and easy tuning and no problems with the wind.

    As said the domes are much improved, however, I would stick with the Flat Sat Plus.

    I coudnt justify the cost of an automatic dish when the Flat Sat operates so effiecentley

    As said by our ringleader Jim, give Road Pro a call. They are most helpful and know what their talking about. I dont think that they would put you on a bum steer just to make a sale.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  10. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    after thought


    I have found now I tend to have to put the sat on when I get on site to see if the system will pick up a picture as with the dome you do not know which way the signal is coming from. But at shows like Lincoln it is not a problem and at Bath & West I just checked by looking at campers with a flat dish and moved the RV forward a few feet to get a tree free line of vision.

    But as I say at Lincoln I watch one after the other of the flat dishes being lowered and even the free standing ones being taken down.

    Bob:thumb:
     
  11. lookback

    lookback Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Mareham le fen, Lincs
    How do you alter the LNB skew angle, which is very necessary to get a good reception in Spain?


    Ian
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Good question.. from Camos web site http://camosdome.com/inside-the-camos-dome.html

    Clearly not as simple as an ordinary dish, requiring the removal of 12 screws to remove the top.

    In saying that, in all my travels in Spain with a Maxview crank up I never had to skew the LNB.
     
  13. tommytli

    tommytli Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    lancashire
    i have the camos dome 40cm and my mate smith123 has the flat camos pro (crank up) we have just done a month in europe and his was the better i would say, he locked on quicker than mine some times and his was manual, they got the same channels on our trip, save ya cash and go for the camos plus they are around £400, when i bought my camos it was £1750, and if i had to buy one again it would be the one my mate has
     
  14. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    Dont know about the dome but with the dish you unscrew 2 wingnuts on the dish and move/scew the dish around. Then tighten the two wing nuts.

    You do have to get on the roof to access the wing nuts. Ive never had to use it.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  15. carpyone

    carpyone Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Needingworth, Cambs
    I had a camos 40 dome fitted this year. No problems all over France, using sky all sites used, signals quickly found.
    Only downside, on the toll roads when leaving at unmanned (ie automatic booths), they measured the height of the vehicle to determin class/price and always classed me as class 3 whilst all manned toll booths charged me class 2. My m/h is 3.05m but with the dome it is 3.30m.
     
  16. pkurzok

    pkurzok Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    australia
    thanks

    thanks to all your reply it great to see a forums that help newbie like me
     
Loading...

Share This Page