Dongles

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Munchie, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    When we went to Scotland we bought a Vodaphone dongle as we were led to believe that was the best one for Scotland. Never used it as our 3 dongles worked in all area, The Trossachs, Grantown on Spey, Fort William and Jedburgh.
    We have never been anywhere that the 3 dongles would not connect.
    I had a big download for Tom Tom (full European map update) at home in Nrth Yorkshire. Great I thought I will use up the Vodaphone before it runs out. Hrmpf no signal.
    So I am posting this thinking it may help anyone thinking of buying a dongle for the first time. :Wink:
     
  2. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,190
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    I got an O2 dongle free as part of a contract package.
    Never used it or any other dongle as yet.
    Is O2 any good?
     
  3. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    22,317
    Location:
    Moving around
    Thanks Ken. My 3 Dongle contract runs out this month and I am confused as to what to get.

    With your 3 dongle do you have a contract or can you pay as you go?

    I do not have any other computer than my laptop connected to anywhere but will occasionally use the dongle on a computer which doesn't connect to a landline :)Sad: did I explain that properly)? I don't need loads and loads of space but don't want to find myself with too little.


    PS EDIT. John I am 02 on my mobile, what do you think too please? I do not have a landline any more.
     
  4. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi Joy I got an offer three years ago when I got a phone from them. I pay £7.50 a month for 5 gig. Cos it was so good and we have no land line Steph got one for herself at £15 a month for 5 gig both on contract. :Wink:
     
  5. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    22,317
    Location:
    Moving around
    Thanks Ken. If five gig good, then? Do I just phone up or do I have to go into one of their shops to buy it and arrange d/d.? Sorry but really dense with computers ...... amongst other things..:Smile:
     
  6. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    5 gig a month is a lot Joy. You can get them on line but if you call in the shop they are very helpful and will set up payment for you. :Wink:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,397
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    You can get broadband on PAYG on 3 but the current deal is not as good as the one which ended in September (which is only open for people who had subscribed by then).

    All the companies have on-line coverage maps which give a guide to the strength of signal you can expect.

    Graham
     
  8. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    Thanks Ken....I use a "3" pay-as-you-go dongle and was under the impression that in Scotland (if I ever get there) it was going to be hopeless (it hasn't been great in a lot of the places I've stayed in England/Wales). Your findings are welcome news :thumb:
     
  9. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    22,317
    Location:
    Moving around
    Thanks Ken. Much appreciate your help. That's another thing off my mind so I can clear a bit of space in there to deal with the rest of the problems.:BigGrin:
     
  10. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
  11. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I live in S Scotland & have only ever used my 3 Dongle to access the internet. Been all over Scotland & there are a few places it won't work, check the coverage maps they are fairly accurate I have found.
    Most people will manage on 1GB a month unless they are heavy users. I'm like Ken with a £7.50 monthly contract and have never exceeded my 5GB.
    I dumped O2 as they did not have as good a deal as 3 for a monthly contract. Their coverage is very similar 3, who also claim they have increased coverage now.
     
  12. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,190
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Hi Joy,
    I went into a phone shop to get a dongle, but ended up with an upgrade on my Orange contract.
    For once I'm better off.
    The guy gave me an O2 dongle, so never used O2 at all, so cant tell you if the system is any good. Happy with orange for mobile phone.
    Just wondering if the dongle is worth activating.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    are you sure it isnt a glitch in the dongles settings Ken.

    i was on Voda for a couple of years and while the signal wasnt the best in the world i could normally get some signal...even if it was usually dial-up speeds.
     
  14. Mandaxxx

    Mandaxxx Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wherever we stop.
    We have both got Vodaphone dongles and apart from one area where we couldn't get any signals, mobile phones-Orange and Tesco & the Vodaphone dongle, we have always been able to get online. Some places are quicker than others.:thumb:
     
  15. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Checked the settings John at home on 3 I get full HSDPA on vodaphone I got one "bar" on 3g :Blush:
     
  16. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    12,675
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I have an 02, BT , Vodafone and 3 dongle all on PAYG, heck I'll soon have a collection.
    Can't account for Scotland but in England and Wales the 3 is by far the best. The others will probably be better off in the bin.

    3 dongle rules ko
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    No i wasnt :Doh:......i was on T mobile. i'm on voda now

    only on voda 'cos i picked up a 'none expiring' sim for £7.50 with £15 credit attached.
    still only used around £2 since july :thumb:
     
  18. grumps147

    grumps147 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    879
    Location:
    St.Helens
    If you look at coverage maps from the various providers they all have problems in the sticks.
    My works phone - 02 - has trouble getting connections when in the same places my 3 wi fi PAYG dongle will connect.
    In particular I wanted it for Pooley Bridge - 02 forget it, 3 dongle generally good.
     
  19. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,397
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    That's nowt. The original £15 on mine is still more than £15.50 now :Smile: I only use it if I can't get a 3 signal and they gave me an extra quid for some reason.

    Graham
     
  20. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,798
    Likes Received:
    22,317
    Location:
    Moving around
    Graham, re the old tariff that you mention finished in September, because I am on 3 with a deal with the laptop and have been for three years, do you think they might class it as already with them so I am entitled to the better deal>

    Or is that being silly to ask them for it?:Sad:
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page