Damn 3

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Kool Kroozer, Aug 25, 2016.

  1. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    I purchaded a tp link mifi thing months ago with a 3 12g sim card, popped it in and away it went.. Happy surfing, got into france today and bloody thing wont connect to the Internet.. Fkin tech
     
  2. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Did you enable the roaming before you left UK?
     
  3. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    Beds
    We had the same issue. With the mifi and your device's wifi turned on, click on this: http://192.168.1.1

    At the control panel, type in admin as the user name and admin as the password.

    Click on "Connect" when you have the option.

    You might explore and find that there are settings that suggest that it would automatically connet if you click the correct box; it didn't work for me so I had to do it each time I wanted to reconnect.

    P.s. If the IP address does not work for you, search for the address that you need for your device.
     
  4. milliethehymer

    milliethehymer Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Also, in my experience, some parts of France ( like the UK ) don't have 3G or 4G coverage. So there might be nothing wrong with the unit or how you've set it up, you just might not be getting a signal.

    We found a lot of areas in Normandy in May where this was the case, and my initial thought was that I'd done something wrong!
     
  5. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    It was already enabled
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Brakers

    Brakers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Southampton
    Voyager 1 is a space probe launched by NASA on September 5, 1977. Part of the Voyager program to study the outer Solar System, Voyager 1 launched 16 days after its twin, Voyager 2. Having operated for 38 years, 11 months and 19 days, the spacecraft still communicates with the Deep Space Network to receive routine commands and return data. At a distance of 135 AU (2.02×1010 km) from the Sun as of June 2016,[3] it is the farthest spacecraft from Earth .
    Yet we still can't get a decent wifi signal around our small planet!
     
    • Like Like x 9
  7. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    Beds
    Did the connection via the ip address work?
     
  8. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Cant say as I don't have a control panel on the tablet or on the mini for an up addressvtp be input
     
  9. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    Beds
    Click on the address that I provided. It will open an brower into your control panel or type the address into your browser while connected to your mifi.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    APN Settings.... MAYBE..
    You often need to change these to suit the network you are trying to connect to...
    Had this as a common problem when we first went to Morocco, once we found out what it was and how to do it we were soon sorted.
    It's also something i did a few weeks ago for a fellow funster while at york...
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Do these 3 SIM cards have to be registered with 3 or something ? I have never registered mine as they have worked by just taking out the packet and sticking it in the mifi (I did this as it was what I was told to do)..I don't have a 3 phone contract or anything else with 3 and it seems like I am unable to register as their website awful
     
  12. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Where are the pan settings ... on the mifi or the item I am connecting it to..android tablet in my case
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    It should be on your screen, when you open the Internet, with this
    http://192.168.1.1/ You should get a dashboard thingy where you can alter stuff, I really don't know anymore than you but I had the same problem last year and I got on here and someone told me what to put, it's just a couple of words.
     
  14. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    All it was on mine now I think back, was to change vodaphone to three, on the screen seems daft but that's all it is.
     
  15. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    APN is in the MIFI... You need to look within all the advance settings.. I have no knowledge on the TP Link.
    Do a search on here for APN, thats how i found the info last time.. If I find the link i will post it..
     
  16. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Like Like x 2
  17. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Feltwell

    Feltwell Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Mine wouldn't work last week as I hadn't enabld roaming. 3's online customer help lady was, to her credit, both knowledgeable and helpful and I got it sorted.

    Only frustrating thing is of course you need the Internet to be able to access the online help! Luckily I had my works iPhone with me. The lady did say 3 had been having some technical difficulties with roaming.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Would just like to say a big thanks to all for the info given, I have been using my phone to access the net but its costing a fortune with EE and stressing me out but stayed up late lastnight and downloaded a app from the play store which allowed me to access the dashboard on the mifi, i did what was advised by typingbin admin for user and password then changed the settings from orange to 3internet and then bingo straightnon the net.. so big thanks to all who helped
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    5,648
    Location:
    Weegeland
    The first person in the 3 shop told me the 3 card has to be registered on the UK network before you can use it abroad, the second person told me it did not! I registered them anyway to be sure.
     
Loading...

Share This Page