Coordinated wrong in acsi book?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jac Sprat, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Posting again as the last effort screwed up the titie - apologies! F
    urther to my grouse about satnav (Garmin Nuvi) cutting out and going wrong right at the end we are now looking closely at the coordinates. They simply seem to be wrong for where we are. Today it tried to take us onto a canal path. Someone watching offered to drive us to the campsite which was about two km away. These coordinates all come from the acsi camping book. Has anyone else noticed they are wrong? We just tested it now at the campsite and where we are is different coordinates to the book. This is the third time wrong.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    As has been posted before, there are 3 different ways of putting in coordinates SCSI caught us out as well, nearly got us in the sea.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
  4. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    5,648
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Not meaning to be rude but are you using the correct easting and Westing settings on the sat nav. On the Nuvi you need to set E or W for some coordinates depending where you are!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    12,692
    Location:
    Norfolk
    as above must use the correct co ordinate format, 3 choices on Garmin, and when input you get the option to view map which will confirm if you have the correct location.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    @Jac Sprat What site are you at so we can check this end to see if it is your sat nav.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Thanks
    This must be what we are doing wrong as it's happening so often
    Could you kindly explain further about the the three different options on Garmin as we're only seeing one
    Just 'easting and northing' coordinates . Very much appreciated .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Norfolk
     
  9. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Norfolk
  10. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Just put the one you have in the box and it will convert it to the others
     
  11. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Perhaps not the best converter there are others on google
     
  12. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Norfolk
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg This is the page in the acsi book
    And the one under is what sat nav says we are at.
     
  13. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    5,648
    Location:
    Weegeland
    When you go to the coordinates menu there is a little spanner on the top left of the screen, here you can set the coordinate types. Just experiment, most camping references use one of the 3 numbered sequences on the menu choices. also check you have E &W set correctly when you input the coordinates from your reference in the main input menu they are at the top of the screen.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Stroppy Bird

    Stroppy Bird Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Lincs
    Looking at that the book is using one method and your Garmin is using another.

    Are you able to go into the garmin menu and change the type of co-ords? I think our Garmin gives the option of inputting in 3 different ways.

    ETA Campa cola faster than me!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Yes both right just different way, you ha be to know which you are working with, alltheaires and France passion use different ones,you have to be really carefull
     
  16. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Once you sort it you will be OK next time
     
  17. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    @Jac Sprat I have put the co-ordinates into both my sat nav (chinese cheapie) and google maps they both arrive at the same place. A sharp left hand bend in the rue de plaisance. street view shows the gates to the campsite. So the coord look correct to me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Replied before I saw your pictures. You are using the wrong input format.
     
  19. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I hope this doesn't confuse things but the pictures you have posted show exactly where you are going wrong.

    The ACSI coords are given in the format degrees, minutes and seconds. Your satnav is set to degree and minutes only. It is possible to convert one to the other with a website but it really shouldn't be necessary, you just need to set your satnav to accept coords in the correct format.

    You need to go into settings and find the format which should be listed as ddd mm ss (if it is anything like my Garmin). Yours is currently set it to the option ddd mm.mmm

    Ignore the next bit if you want: :)

    There is a link between the two formats and this may explain why you are getting close to a site but not close enough for the proverbial cigar. If a site was listed as being at 20° 15' 30" you have been entering it as 20° 15.30 but it should have been entered as 20° 15.50 because 30 seconds is half a minute, there being 60 seconds to the minute, so the correct number was 0.5 as a decimal not 0.3.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Lee Fryer

    Lee Fryer Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Sat nav entree is different to book. IE ' should be behind 56 & 22 '' Should be behind 9 & 59
    Lee
     
Loading...

Share This Page