Camos Flat Sat

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Snitrats, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Just purchased on the internet a Camos Flat Sat @ £348.99. I think that is a petty good deal?
    £51.00 cheaper than most places.
    I am sure someone will come back and tell me where there is a cheaper one!:thumb:
     
  2. steveclecy

    steveclecy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    581
    Location:
    Wirral
    Looks a pretty good deal to me. Are you going to share with us where you found it?
    Steve
     
  3. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
  4. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
    is it the camos sat or the camos sat plus that you have got, that is a good price have been looking at the camos sat plus with which you can supposedly get the astra 2 signal down on the med but that was over 500 pounds. I like the idea of the low profile and no arm with lnb to go wrong
     
  5. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
  6. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Yeah, decent price. I'm thinking of getting one,

    just very very nervous at the though of fitting it myself..... drilling holes in the roof and all that:Eeek:
     
  7. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Have a look at campervanstuff, £484.00:thumb:
     
  8. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Me to go again to campervanstuff ,as well as the standard instructions, there is at the bottom of the camos listing there is a full install guide, gave me the confidence to bang a 38mm
    hole thro' the roof:thumb:
     
  9. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    I looked at that along with these instructions.

    http://www.roadpro.co.uk/images/pdfs/Camos Crank-up system installation and use.pdf

    I'm still nervous about the hole for the cable never mind the 38mm hole for the dish.........:Eeek::Eeek:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    The cable can be set to the side of the dish,although the instructions show it to the front. So
    I was going to drop mine through onto the wall cabinets and cable it to the TV point.Hopefully
    I can fix this by accessing through the roof vent. Any way hope to fix it when it arrives next week, will keep you posted:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Did you manage to install the dish without any problems?, :thumb:

    and if so how is it working, signal strength, is it effected by the wind, etc.....
     
  12. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Hi Chatter
    Where about's on the med do you mean, I go to Spain around La Manga and Valencia areas. Pete:Smile:
     
  13. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
  14. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Yes ,Quite easy.once you have got the nerve to start drilling! Fed the cable to the side straight to the inside of the wall cupboard so all cables are out of sight. Does it work well? Yes sat here in Skegness at the moment 80% signal 70% quality. Setting up is a little frustrating the first time (trees) but got it down to about a minute now. Going back to fitting ,you may have to cut the elevation handle a bit shorter depending on the thickness of the roof (this is not shown on the instructions) Only downside I have found is trees, been to 2 sites last week and could not get a thing without moving the van I now find looking at dishpointer.com helps me find a good pitch before arriving on site:thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. dshague

    dshague Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    sth yorks
    if you don't want to fit yourself on the roadpro web site they have approved installers in your area ,
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. big dave
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    330
  2. SUE L
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    868
  3. Melian
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    220
  4. Zajacp
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    641
  5. DAVWOD
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    661

Share This Page