Blown a fuse!!

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by BetweenTheWheels, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. BetweenTheWheels

    BetweenTheWheels Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dublin
    Evening all. This is my first post having wandered on the periphery of the site for a few weeks now....please bear with my ignorance. I've bought a 2005 Bessacarr e745 last week and I'm getting the hang of it.....well thought I was.

    All was going relatively well until this afternoon when I bought a Dyson fan thinking that it would be very useful (and cool!) in saving my gas while on hookup here in Ireland. Bad idea. I plugged it in to the socket in the overhead locker for the tv, it started, went for about 5 seconds and then stopped. Now I have no 240v. None of the trip switches in the Electronic Control System (Sargent PSU 2007) were tripped but now neither the Charger or Heater Lights are on.

    I've checked the fuses in the leisure batteries and they're all fine. I've also checked the power from the house and that is fine too.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,056
    Likes Received:
    7,097
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi and welcome to the Fun
    It sounds like the ELH has tripped out at the site outlet ..... try plugging into another hook-up point

    If this is the problem then you may be able to reset it yourself or you may have to get site staff to sort it
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  3. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    just a wild guess, is there a fuse in the hook up cable,
    good luck
     
  4. BetweenTheWheels

    BetweenTheWheels Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dublin
    Wow!.....that was fast! Many thanks for that. However, I'm plugged in on hookup at home and the socket inside that I am using hasn't tripped and can charge other things (i.e. my phone charger). The problem seems to be within the 'van....
     
  5. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,056
    Likes Received:
    7,097
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    If you have a normal 3pin plug on your hook-up cable the fuse may have blown, particularly if you were running any other electric items when you put the fan heater on.
     
  6. Barclaybasher

    Barclaybasher Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Location:
    Derby
    Might sound obvious but have you pushed the hook up plug right into the socket on the van? try unplugging and plug it back in ............

    :Smile:
     
  7. BetweenTheWheels

    BetweenTheWheels Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dublin
    Panic averted!

    Ahhh......it was the fuse in the plug. Have changed it and now working fine again.....no more bling bling for me in the 'van I guess. Will stick to woolie jumpers etc. to save the gas!!

    Many thanks for all your help. It is much appreciated.

    Ultan:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. oldun

    oldun Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    St Neots

    Many motorhomes have the sockets fused internally at 10 amps with the lights etc at 5 amps.

    This means that the sockets are limited to about 2.3 kW bearing in mind that you may well have the fridge and battery charger running off the same circuit you may have around 2 kW for everything else. This will be true even if you have a site supply of 16 amps.

    Why not get motorhome friendly electric kettles, heaters etc that run at 1 or 2 kW?

    Check the fuse rating of your mains distribution unit and always check what else is running before adding further units to the mains supply.
     
  9. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    We have a bessecar E630, and ran a dyson fan all last summer in France with no problem. Obviously we didn't put the electric hob or the microwave on at the same time, but had no problem with the van electric on hook up.
    It may be that the three pin plug from your house just wasn't strong enough?
    Try it on a site before you give up because those fans are brilliant - we can have it on the floor for our old dog, and he can't hurt himself because there are no blades.:Smile::Smile::Smile::BigGrin:
     
  10. BetweenTheWheels

    BetweenTheWheels Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dublin
    :BigGrin: You're right re: Dyson. Once I realised that it was the fuse in the plug rather than the heater I went back to the shop and bought (back) the fan!. Now it's running in the background as I write this with my two dogs sleeping on the seat next to same (-1 deg here tonight!). :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    3,889
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    Am alway blowing a fuse on here:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  12. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Many people use retractbale extension cables which are often inadequate for loads of more than 10 amps.

    Rule of thumb - if the appliance is used for heating ensure any plug top fuses are 13 amp. Ensure any extension cable size is rated for the load of the appliance, is fully pulled out and not left part coiled on reels or cable tidys. :thumb:
     
  13. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I know it's not directly related but thought I'd mention that I've replaced all the fuses in the 'moho' with LED fuses. If the fuse blows it lights up an inbuilt LED so no more checking fuse after fuse. :thumb:
    Wyn
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. oldun

    oldun Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    St Neots
    Nobody seems to know where all the fuses are placed in any given motorhome and that includes the manufactuers.

    Toilets etc often have fuses placed locally, tucked away out of site in some inaccessible place.

    Often you have to rely on other owners fuinduing them for you.

    My Devon monaco had a distribution unit containing a fuse marked frisge. Did this control the fridge- no! The frisge fuse was located close to the leisure battery, along with several others.

    Best of luck.
     
  15. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,190
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    HI,
    I have a 2000 e 745.
    Is the offending circuit mains 240v, or did you plug into a 12v tv socket?
    If it's 12v, there is a spade fuse for the overhead lights etc. tucked away.
     
  16. chrisboyo

    chrisboyo Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Newport South Wales
    I dont know anything about fuses but


    :party2::flyingwelcome::party2:
     
Loading...

Share This Page