Batteries not holding charge

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Barney23, Jan 6, 2015.

1. Barney23

Barney23 Funster

Hello, probably a straight forward answer & please bear in mind I am new to this.
    I have our Autotrail on hook up with a oil filled rad left on, noticed last week that vehicle & leisure batteries (two) were reading "fair" put both on a charger, went to "good" but now reading "fair" once again.
    What, if anything am i doing wrong.
    Many Thanks

2. mjltigger

mjltigger Funster

Did you leave the charger on once they got to good?

3. Badknee

Badknee Funster

Turn the rad off and see if the batteries charge, unplug from EHU and check every week for a couple of weeks. If they lose charge either there is something drawing power or the are goosed. How old are they do you know?

• Like Like x 1
  4. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

Cold weather and older batteries don't mix.

If possible leave the batteries on charge all the time.
    If it's a modern charger it won't harm then.
    You May need a separate charger, if the oboard only does leisure battery, for the engine battery plugged into a habitation socket and the lead fed out the drivers door.....the door seal should have enough flexibility to not cause damage.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Wildman

Wildman Read Only Funster

batteries do self discharge due to internal resistance and this is exacerbated in cold weather. Some things like radio and alarm still consume power. Keep Batteries on trickle charge or isolate them.

6. Barney23

Barney23 Funster

I left charger on overnight so unsure at what stage they got to good.

7. Barney23

Barney23 Funster

Will try that, thanks, Van is a year old.

8. Barney23

Barney23 Funster

Alarm always on, will try to keep on trickle charge, thanks.

9. Badknee

Badknee Funster

Ok, so vans a year old. Batts should be fine, alarms on but running on which battery, start or leisure? Overnight charge on a big battery may not be enough?