apple macbook pro buying advice please.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by dippingatoe, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    Hi have a macbook which I bought in april last year. All okay but recently (and foolishly) I amalgamated my iPhoto and Photo programmes which has caused something to go wrong. Always travelling I don't get super fast connections, plus find it difficult to get to Apple Stores, so thinking of getting another so I am never without when on the move. Mine is a 15" (which I bought after my 17" microsoft) but to be honest I would have managed easily with a 13" plus it would be lighter for me when constantly packing and unpacking it on the move.

    Now.... the question is..... knowing Apple's inability to be upgraded I want to future-proof this new machine. My current model has i7 4 core, the 13" I am looking at have either i5 or i7 but both appear to be dual core.

    From the question it looks as though I know what I am talking about, but my grasp of the subject is pretty tenuous. Any apple aficionados out there who understand and can give advice.

    Currently I use it a lot to manipulate photographs, and if I could ever get to grips with iMovie would do the same with shortish video clips. Plus I do relish the ability of the machine to process quickly. .......... Anyone ? :) :) :)
     
  2. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    @scotjimland might be along in a minute? he is well up on the 'pro' macs (y)

    I am still hanging on in there with my 2011 MacbookAir 13" :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    If you can make an appointment at an Apple Store for the Genius bar and take your machine in they will help you with the photo problem. They're absolutely brilliant. Not sure why you want to buy a new machine but they can help with advice about future proofing too.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Essex
    Sounds like an expensive fix to a "simple" problem.
    If you can't get to an Apple Store, have you tried calling Apple ?
    Or uninstall / reinstall the programmes that have gone fubar ?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    The reason for buying a new machine is that I find it next to impossible to get to an Apple store even when in UK let along in France (especially speaking no French)

    My only transport is my motorhome 10m x 2.5 x 3.65 high - meaning no access to most city centre carpark. Plus if I do park and ride I can't get my mobility scooter on so it means a long slow painful walk for me carrying the mac book.

    So if it has to be sent back I will have a machine to use whilst it is gone.
     
  7. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    Ps Have phoned Apple Support several times - problem initially arose as they suggested amalgamating the two libraries. Searching on internet now it seems that others have had problems after amalgamation.

    Have just come off phone to them again and will try something else. To cap it all my external hard drive just this morning informed me that it will not do further back ups. :(
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I have one but wouldn't say I was well up on them..

    At present have a Macbook Pro 13" Retina Display, i5 2.6GHz , 16GB memory 256 GB flash storage..

    I bought it to replace my old 17" Powerbook G4 .. purchased in 2005 .. it had done sterling service.

    I also have a Dell laptop with an i7 processor and it has overheating problems.. never got it resolved, been back to Dell twice.. apparently a common problem with the i7 processor in laptops, that may have been resolved by Apple, but I was mindful of this when I bought the Mac..

    I put the money into memory rather than processor..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Lancaster
    I have a 13" Macbook Pro, i5 processor (2.9GHz), Retina display, 8GB RAM, 500GB Flash Hard Drive.

    It's fast - bloomin fast! I don't power off very often but when I do it powers up and is ready to use in under 10 seconds. Wake up from sleep mode is almost instant.

    Image quality is excellent. Processing of images, movies, searching, everything, is just quick and smooth.

    It's my 3rd MacBook although the first one that I haven't covered with a protective case, it's just too nice to hide ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    That's kinda what I meant ............. 16GB is a massive amount of memory, ideal for intensive photo processing I would have thought (I only have 4GB:()
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    video and photo editing is what i mainly use it for.. to while away the long dreary nights on Skye ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I would have thought the i5 processor would be ample for all but serious power users. Having just done a bit of reading up, I see it is no longer possible to add memory after purchase as it's soldered to the mother board. Bit of a b*gg*r but I guess it's Apple's cunning plan to make you pay a premium for memory when purchasing. (I upgraded my almost 9 year-old MBP a few years back with extra Crucial Memory. It's still going strong.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. ceejayt

    ceejayt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    York
    There its one basic rule - always buy the top spec on Apple kit - you get the value back with the shelf life. My last MacBook Pro was a 2009 15 inch and 6 years later is still a great machine. I have more recently dropped to a 13 inch MacBook Pro with retina screen - lighter and easier to carry and much better value for money than the Air. So get the top processor and upgrade the ram and it will last you many years.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    When I said that, I meant it :eek: My MacbookAir is showing signs of dying recently :( The CPU starts to get really hot (and the SSD) then the (always quiet) fan kicks in for a cool down. I have checked the hardware with apples on line checker and there does appear to be a fault :(

    I am not running anything that is CPU intensive, just 'Chrome' or 'Safari' ........... :confused:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    This is my current machine - and what I don't want (if I am forced to buy another) is to find that my new model is no better - or perhaps not as good as - my current one. As I say I am looking to future proof.

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)

    Processor Name: Intel Core i7

    Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz

    Number of Processors: 1

    Total Number of Cores: 4

    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB

    L3 Cache: 6 MB

    Memory: 16 GB


    So back to my original question - which was - do you think a 2013 i7 four core is faster than a 2015 i5 dual core, bearing in mind I will have the same spec other than that the processor speed will be 2.9 rather than 2.3, and if anyone can answer give yourselves a pat on the back as I have been asking apple the same question for a couple of days and getting only fudged answers.

    :)
     
  16. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Ah, sorry @dippingatoe .......... I think that's the problem........ I am (we are?) out of our depth I think for what you ask :confused:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Essex
    Is this thread any use to you:
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6926329?start=0&tstart=0
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    You may very well have checked this (if it is possible on a Mac) but it's not just muck \ fluff \ etc clogging up the cpu \ case fans? Nephew had similar problem with laptop (Windows). I took it apart and cleaned the fan and it's now back working fine. Having said that he was sitting it on his knee and blocking the ventilation slots a bit!
    :xdoh:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    Many thanks - yes I have discovered that my macbook has created another library, and though I can access it now there is an ongoing problem when I try to access the second library (containing all the photos) to use them for uploading etc. I could of course delete the original library, but without an external hard-drive available to back up before performing this operation I am, as you might imagine, pretty nervous.

    But many thanks to everyone for your help on this. I posted as I know there are some Mac Book users on here and thought they may be able to help (which you did)

    But I have had an idea - and instead of phoning Apple yet again I will try emailing them with the question. :) It will give them time to find someone who can answer and I will have time to read the answer at my leisure. :)


     
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Not sure if this helps..
    After I was sure that Photos had imported all the images.. I un-installed iPhoto and deleted it's library..

    Apple has confirmed that it’s ditching Aperture, its photo management tool, and iPhoto,
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page