Anyone Know?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by alivan, May 1, 2010.

  1. alivan

    alivan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK and Europe
    I want to use my MH tv with my laptop, I connect with a monitor lead and can only get:
    NO SYNC can anyone help please.
    Ivan
     
  2. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    You need to tell us.......

    What system software you have on the computer (I hope its not Vista as I don't know it)
    What video ports you have on the monitor
    What are the connectors on your video lead

    I have done this with a XP system To a reverse camera and it is not a stable setup but it can be done.

    Doug...
     
  3. Phil

    Phil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Herts
    I think most modern TVs have a PC input and usually provide a suitable lead. You will have to select PC with the remote control using the Source button or similar if it has one.

    Phil.
     
  4. alivan

    alivan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK and Europe
    Reply From Ivan

    Hello, thanks for the help: It is windows and I am just using the same lead as on my house comp. from unit to monitor large flat plug with 2 wheel screws blue. the lap top has no scart, S. 4 x USB.
    ivan
     
  5. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk
    With some laptops you have to turn on the external screen, On mine I have to press FN and F2. One of the F buttons will have a small picture of a screen shaped thing on it.
    This normally turns off the laptop screen to save battery,as long as the external screen is connected. If you press the same buttons again it should turn the laptop screen back on again.
     
  6. wireman

    wireman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    You are using the VGA port on the laptop. Your TV has a VGA input?

    Check to make sure that the laptop is correctly set up in properties to auto switch the VGA port on when it detects a monitor (external). With some you may have to do it manually (control key held down and press F5 often works depending on laptop) and make sure you TV is set to AV (could be AV1 or AV2 try them both). Basically the TV is not seeing a signal on the channel it is on.
     
  7. IrasciBill

    IrasciBill Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    TV as monitor

    Hi ALIVAN,
    Sometimes Fn F2 etc (it's Fn F8 on a Dell!) doesn't work very well (depends on your graphics adaptor) If it doesn't;
    Right click on any clear area of the desktop (not on an icon) and select "Graphics Options" > "Output To" > "Monitor". That should do the trick. If you want the laptop screen to stay on as well you should also have an option of dual display (mine says "Intel(R) Dual Display Clone") then select "Monitor + Notebook". There can be a delay of a few seconds after selection before anything happens. Hope this helps :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page