Absolute Satellite Beginner

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Bacchus, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    I am almost embarassed to post this, but...

    My old Hymer has two satellite dishes, but no TV or anything.

    I have absolutely no idea how satellite TV works, would I be able to use either of these dishes? Why might it have two? what equipment would I need to get to receive Freesat - all on 12v at the mo, but am considering fitting an inverter, I know a little about those (c:
     
  2. Old Soldier

    Old Soldier Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Wells in Somerset
    Hi Baccus.
    I assume your dishes are portable or is one mounted on the roof? Do you not have a receiver of any sort?.
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    stick with 12v for the receiver or just go with an avtex TV which runs on 12v and includes both terrestrial and sat decoders. Are the sat dishes manual or automatic, wind up or dome. I suspect one of each or no point of having two. a photo or two would help.
     
  4. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    Hi Old Soldier, the dishes are both roof mounted. All I have done with them for three years is collect moss...

    There are handles inside the van for elevating and rotating them, but no, I have no equipment- my limit in this field is putting up a TV aerial on the house and connecting it to a freeview box...
     
  5. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    Hi Wildman

    Dishes are both manual winders, I will get a couple of pics in the morning.

    So I could just connect an "avtex" TV and plug the satellite into the back? As long as the satellite was aligned it would work like "normal" TV?
     
  6. Old Soldier

    Old Soldier Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Wells in Somerset
    Sounds like Wildman might have the answer.
     
  7. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,546
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Just a thought could one be for satellite internet, seen a van at Chester meet with two dishes and one was for Internet.
     
  8. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    It's a 1991 van... It may have had satellite internet added of course. I will get some more useful details in the a.m
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I'm just wondering if they are actually both sat dishes.. to the uninitiated some campervan / caravan ariels look like sat dishes..
     
  10. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    yes just make sure the model you get is DRS the "S" being satellite. just plug in align dish and away you go and uses under 2 amps so battery will last longer.
     
  11. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Before you spend any money, check that the dishes are for digital satellite reception. If they are old ones, they may have come from the analogue satellite era and no longer work. A picture will help identify this and you could do worse than make a call to Roadpro (or similar supplier) if you need technical advice.
    RoadPro | Practical Products on the Move
     
  12. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    Hi All, thanks for the advice thus far!

    I have clambered up the back and taken a couple of photos, no idea whether they will help to identify. This is the main dish

    Big Dish.jpg

    this is the controller underneath

    control.jpg

    And this is the other dish; I am beginning to wonder whether this is just some kind of TV aerial...

    Little Dish.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Sheddy

    Sheddy Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    2,676
    Location:
    Burry Port South Wales / Benidorm
    Top is a Maxview crank up Satellite dish, and the lower one is a TV aerial. (y)
    As long as the dish feed cable and the LNB ( device on the end of the dish arm) are OK you should be able to set it up for a Satellite receiver or a TV with a built in receiver.
     
  14. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    first ones a maxview wind up dish for satelite tv and if pointed at astra 2 with an appropriate receiver will give you tv, the second is a tv/radio antenna for terrestrial services and will give you digital tv if you have a receiver for that.
     
  15. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    woo-hoo - many thanks!!

    I shall buy a TV and give it a go.

    I quite like being away from the TV when I am with GF Bacchus, but will be heading off for a week or two solo and it would be a nice to have (c:
     
  16. Hammie

    Hammie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    128
    I haven't got mine going yet either, are you the man who I met at Baker Tyres?
     
  17. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    Hi Hammie, sorry, not I. Never heard of Baker Tyres...




    As an addendum to my post, I have also found this:-

    Signal finder.jpg

    Which I guess I just connect to the satellite output and wiggle the dish aorund until the green light comes on? No power supply, but presumably gets enough gain from the satellite cable.

    And this:-

    Booster.jpg

    Which looks like some kind of signal booster.

    An enterprising previous owner has put a dual switch system with a "main" switch inside the hanging locker and a microswitch on the overhead locker door, so with the main switch on, this box is activated when the locker door is opened.

    Now, must get myself a telly... (I am not going to ask which one on here, that seems to be as divisive as "anchor" threads on a sailing forum I go on :whistle: )
     
  18. Hammie

    Hammie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    128
    Baker tyres Thorpe lea road. Met a man from Warwick Avenue (truly) same campervan
     
  19. Hammie

    Hammie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    128
    Have got maxview satelite as well thinking about maxview satellite Finder but it is £30 instead of £13? Other option is £9 on Amazon for another brand not sure which way to jump
     
  20. Hammie

    Hammie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    128
    I love previous owners output, solar panel, awning, Safari room, satellite dish, love my new second home. Too much red nite nite
     
Loading...

Share This Page