240v Electric problem

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Starburstdave, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. Starburstdave

    Starburstdave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Hi everyone
    I have an Autocruise Starburst 2006 model and have a problem with the 240volt electrics.
    The power supply system is a Sargent EC200-PSU2007.Everything on the 12v side is working normally and there is power from the hookup lead up to the control panel but none of the 240 volt section is working.The van has been on hookup all weekend and everything worked as normal but when I went out to the van this morning there is no 240volts and the trip switches were still in the on position. anyone shed anylight on this

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,720
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Well the first thing I would suggest is to make sure the actual hook up lead is ok and what the lead is plugged in to is ok too..
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,965
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i would say the 240v goes to the charger/psu and the 240v equipment should be independant of the panel...IE: 240v sockets, fridge, water heater ect powered direct from the PSU via the trip switches.

    how do you know theres 240v at the panel?

    when you say 'been on hookup all weekend' is this at your house?

    where do you have it plugged in ? house/garage ect. if its in the garage then there SHOULD be a seperate fuse/breaker in the main fuse box in the house for the garage curcuit. it may have tripped.

    is it a standard household 3 pin plug/socket with adaptor lead or a Europlug/socket ? if its a 3 pin plug/adaptor lead then the fuse in the plug may have blown. plug another appliance in....does it work?
    Europlugs dont generaly have a fuse.

    hope this helps

    john.
     
  4. Starburstdave

    Starburstdave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Thanks for your reply.

    Hookup has been to an external socket which is linked to the house electric socket supply. Have tested the plug and socket and that is fine. Have also tested the wiring that leads to the psu and that is live, so I presume from that there is power right up to the psu. Hope this clarifies things for you

    I checked the hook up lead first as thought that would be the obvious answer but alas has nothing to do with it.

    Dave
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,545
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I suspect one of two things
    1. An internal fuse in the PSW has blown
    2. You have a separate trip switch, you have not discovered yet in a sepertate cupboard or outside locker, it could be anywhere:Doh:
    I know someone who's wife packed a cupboard and knocked off a switch they knew nothing about, 3 hrs before the ferry crossing:Eeek:
    Geo
    PS I found reset button on the back of my transformer during one black out
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  6. andyman

    andyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    How did you check there was power up to the PSU. If you used a non contact voltage indicator you would see there was power if the live was intact but, it would not indicate loss of neutral.

    Andy
     
  7. adventure

    adventure Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somerset
    When you press the trip button on the 240v fuses in the motorhome does it trip down (RCD).

    There was a problem with trip fuses on the units fitted to swift motorhomes a couple of years ago so I would imaagine you have the same problem, try throwing the switch a few times to see if it will go but ultimatly I think you will have to change the RCD. :Sad:

    Nick
     
  8. Starburstdave

    Starburstdave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Hi
    Thanks to all who replied, the problem is now fixed.I Phoned South Yorkshire Motorhomes who are the nearest dealer to me and they told me to bring it in and they would investigate.Took it this morning and the chap took the unit off the wall and checked all the connections into unit and found that the 240v supply connection had worked loose and just needed pushing back into place and hey presto it worked.The connection had probably worked loose during our tavels during the last few months. Anyhow everything is now working fine and the best bit was that I wasn't charged for the job.Such a simple thing but if you don't know about these things
    :Doh:
     
  9. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Great News.That's a Recommendation for the Dealer If ever I've heard one.:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page