12v glitch.. really.. now???

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Spenders, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. Spenders

    Spenders

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Tadcaster
    The keen eyed amongst you will notice that I've posted another thread about planning a trip to France in the near future (end of the week actually!). When having a pre-trip tinker with the MH recently I noticed that the 12v sockets in the lounge area didn't seem to be working. Have now checked them both on and off of hook-up and they seem devoid of power.

    I've checked the fuses in the PSU unit and they seem fine. The affected sockets are ones that I think were fitted additionally after the vehicle was built, apart from the single TV aerial/240v/12v unit placed for the TV to work through. Other additional sockets fitted in the central dinette and over-cab bed seem to be working fine. If it was just the additional sockets I could live with it, but as the TV has to be used there, and it only has a 12v plug on it, it means I have no working telly!

    The question is...... does anyone know of and recommend a reliable trader who can look at the problem in the York/Leeds area? I know a couple of places I could try but would rather try someone recommended as being competent/reliable/ reasonable value.

    Cheers,

    Simon :thumb:
     
  2. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    7,576
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    What year is your scout..
    If it's an original fitment then it should show on the circuit diagram.
    http://sargentshop.co.uk/epages/esh...ories/TechData/"System Schematics"/Auto-Trail

    This is worth printing out as it will help anyone looking at the problem.
    Ref additional fitted sockets, it's a case of tracing the wires really and see where they have been connected. May have additional fuses in line somewhere..

    Was the socket working before ??
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  3. Spenders

    Spenders

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Tadcaster
    The sockets were working but I noticed at Wrenbury that we couldn't get the TV to work! I thought it might be to do with not being on hook-up but when I got chance at home when hooked up the sockets still wouldn't work.

    The fuses on the Sergeant PSU were checked at Wrenbury and found to be OK. At home I traced the wiring from the sockets in the lounge area to the cupboard near the hab door (access to the rear of the fire/heater). There are some units in there that look more like relays to me, and additional 240v sockets, but I'm no sparky and am too scared to touch in case I do more damage than good. :Eek!:
     
  4. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    We had similar prob, it turned out to be the 20 amp fuse near the hab battery, then all ok, this was on a 06 Bessie . Pete
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    13,672
    Location:
    Heavan
    You could try sending techno100 a PM, he's in the Leeds area and realy knows his stuff :thumb:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Clive
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    881
  2. Brakers
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    708
  3. emilu
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    749
  4. landyman
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    863
  5. lorger
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    872

Share This Page