1,9 N/a cam belt change

Discussion in 'Fiat' started by gus-lopez, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,664
    Likes Received:
    10,795
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Anyone done one themselves ? It would appear that a locking kit is recommended but I was wondering whether possible without ?
    I've got a complete belt & bearing/tensioner kit but no locking kit.:)
     
  2. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Can be done without the locking kit but safer to use the kit. If you really don't want to buy the kit then before you remove the old belt put some marks on it at each pulley and onto the pulleys at the same positions with tipex. Remove the belt and place it alongside the new one and copy the marks to the new belt (be sure to get it the right way round for direction of travel if applicable) and fit the new belt lining the belt marks up to the ones on the pulleys.

    D.
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  3. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    551
    Location:
    London SE
    A little dodge that I have used over the years that may work for you,
    I don't know what your base vehicle is but basically you get a sharp Stanley knife and cut you belt in half longitudinal around its full circumference turning the engine over slowly,
    Then you can remove half of the belt, but all the timing gears are still fixed, then slide the new belt onto the timing gears, you probably will need to slacken off the tensioner slightly,
    Then cut off the rest of the old belt and push home fully the new belt,
    Obviously you must take care not to let the belt slip when replacing the tensioner,
     
    • Like it Like it x 6
  4. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,221
    Likes Received:
    15,204
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Love that Tony (y) Ivor Antony ?
     
  5. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,664
    Likes Received:
    10,795
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    (y)Thanks for that . That was one idea I had read a while back & which I was proposing to do.
    I was thinking that if I can mange to change the belt on a carnival( Sedona) with the nightmare & lack of space that entails I should be able to mange this without a locking kit.
    If I don't do it before going to the Uk then I'll probably pick up a kit whilst there.

    Yes I've heard that one before. Unfortunately I will be changing everything so don't believe it will work. Thanks anyway.

    Thanks to you both.
     
  6. C200JK

    C200JK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    Can lock the 1.9 handy enough using the 'blind' end of drillbits.
    Not so hard to do, I'll post up auto-data images if you wish.
     
  7. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,664
    Likes Received:
    10,795
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    What , similar to how the transits could be done ?
    yes please.
     
Loading...

Share This Page