Free Member
Nov 23, 2018
Funster No
MH
Under discussion.
Exp
Newbie, tent graduate.
Good morning Funsters,

I'm still looking for my elusive first van. I'm a mechanical idiot so, I'm doing the groundwork after reading Jim's book, then I want an experienced opinion before parting with money: Robert Gale in Paignton has just saved me from buying a money pit.

I've found a contender on the Isle of Wight, can anybody recommend somebody on the island to do a pre purchase/hab check? It has had a lot off work done on the brake systems according to the MOT history, and I'm not sure whether to be reassured or alarmed by that.

I'll try to attach the ad but I'm worse with technology than I am with engines.
Many thanks
Ceri

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
Looks quite rusty around the cab to me if you look at the pictures magnified both wings painted badly some rot in the drivers side screen pillar poor repairs of drivers side rear trim etc. I'm not an expert there will be some along probably soon but at that price it will be a matter of what needs spending not if anything needs spending and if you don't DIY it will probably be worth a fair bit less than it costs once done. You might be lucky and find a good old one from someone retiring from motorhoming maybe look at owners clubs ads rather than online listings. Hope you find a good one

David

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Deepdale

Deepdale

Free Member
Nov 23, 2018
Funster No
MH
Under discussion.
Exp
Newbie, tent graduate.
Thanks David,
I'm happy to deal with the interior, and I've found a chap who fits power steering for £600 so thats covered. But rebuilding is beyond me.
Realistically I've £7000 to play with so I need to invest wisely... the search continues xroll:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
Thanks David,
I'm happy to deal with the interior, and I've found a chap who fits power steering for £600 so thats covered. But rebuilding is beyond me.