Why is the 3 signal so iffy

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Jun 19, 2014.

  1. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Having got my three sim up and running , must say how happy I am with it but can't understand the signal, we have all got O2 phones here where we live as it is the only signal we can get all the time, but never good just enough for texts and calls if you are lucky but this three phone I have now won't work at all in the house nor on one side of the garden but if I walk ten yards to the other side of the garden I get H+ and can send picture messages and get on the internet! sort of nothing inbetween. Why is this, anyone know?
     
  2. sb8263

    sb8263 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    leeds
    just spent 2 weeks on norfolk broads,,and the 3 dongle would work on one side of the boat but not the other,,,so no sorry i haven,t got a clue ,,,:Sad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Just doesn't make sense does it:Doh:
     
  4. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Love the broads , used to go every year before the mh but have still been most years in that too :thumb::thumb:
     
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,205
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    Location:
    Dorset
    i have found most phones and mifi's are prone to being directional. watch signal bar and turn phone etc flat pointing away from you and slowly turn in a circle

    on some sites i find putting the mifi up high, tucked into the skylight works best

    basically though you are limited by the phone masts which leave areas of poor signal. sometimes moving just a few feet helps, especially if its away from any electrical inteference
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    Next time try what I did
    It was showing 3 (calls only) but not 3G which to be honest does not happen often. Anyway I was waiting for the other half and decided to have a play around with settings.
    Now I had already turned auto off and on a few times to see if 3G would come up but no good
    I took carrier off automatic and it took a while but the came up with these carriers
    E
    02
    ? Can't remember
    3
    And also 3G. :Eeek:
    So explain that one, it was only 1bar but it was fast enough :thumb:
    Worth a try if you just get3 with no 3G

    :thumb::thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Had the same problem in and around the house. Used to get about one dot on the phone's signal indicator if lucky. Get on to 3, tell them the problem and ask for a 'Home Signal Box'. It's FREE!

    It just links to your router via a network cable and any other family member with 3 mobile can be added to the unit.

    Since I've had the box, (about a year now)I get a wall-wall signal all of the time!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Lincs
    3 were having some pretty major problems yesterday. I don't know any details - reported on someone else's Twitter feed. I expect google would turn up some more info.

    I understand they been having quite a few problems since the start of June, which might explain why I struggled around 6th-7th.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,426
    Likes Received:
    11,100
    Location:
    Kettering
  10. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    It's the way microwaves work compared to lower frequencies. They're very directional and very susceptible to reflections and obstructions, leading to very great differences in signal quality and level over very short distances.

    Your best bet is to get a Mifi with an external antenna port and stick a great big omni-cantenna on the roof. With mine parked outside the house, I get 2 bars standing on the drive, no signal at all inside (I've got an Aluminium skin), and a full 5 bars on the external cantenna. When we drove up to York, it only dropped below 3 bars twice on the entire journey. Y0u can also use a Yagi, which will give even better signal when stationary with a bit of fiddling, but is not so good when driving around.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    4,099
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    The trouble with 3 is it's 3 g or nothing. Most other providers let you get online with 3G, 2g, Edge and GPRS.
    I've had a love hate relationship with 3 for 4 years. We just moved to a new house off the beaten track. No 3 signal so I threatened to leave 3 ( contract is up this week) and they put me on a great deal short contract and sent me a home signal box for free. Works great at home now.
    One benefit of 3 is that in July, they will include France in their Feel at Home tarif.
    That's going to save me a fortune!
    Allan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. HARESBY

    HARESBY Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Northumberland
    3 signal

    Three has poor record of indoor phone signal. If you are on contract,not PAYG, give three a call and ask for tech department. When asked go through all their questions and request a "Home Signal Box". They cost about £50:Eeek: but generally free to contract customers. No problem with indoor signal now.Phone gone from 1 bar(sometimes) to full signal(all the time). No difficulties on set up either.:thumb:
     
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,712
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    That's all I have got it for really so not bothered about the signal here just puzzled why it works like it does.
    O2 is fine for phone here and I have a contract with them so am on pand go on three just for France where my last O2 bill was £65 extra:Eeek:
     
  14. cbrookson

    cbrookson Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Suffolk
    It could be that the different Operators are running from different physical sites.

    I've found that here in the sticks we don't get them all. Ofcom have a site checker, though it is getting a bit our of date. Sometimes useful to see where the enarest base station is for direction ..............

    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page