Why can't upload

Discussion in 'Top Tips & Tricks' started by rich g, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. rich g

    rich g Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Worcester
    As above I cannot upload a picture from my Galaxy 4 to attachments even when I re-size it.I can using my Mac book so maybe I need to alter some settings on my phone but have tried to no avail. Suggestions please
    Rich
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Depending how you are uploading You need to save the photo.

    Save the file to gallery or photos on your phone.
    Open UPLOAD A FILE
    Select the desired file and the forum does the rest...Inc resizing if possible

    Click full size if that's what you want or leave as a thumbnail.

    Is the photo file type JPEG etc or some obscure APPLE file which only works on Apple products ?
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Just a thought.....
    Is the pic a normal phone camera photo or an internet based picture.
     
  4. rich g

    rich g Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Worcester
    It's pictures I have taken on my phone and have gone into my gallery. So I select attachments go to files then select gallery select a picture then upload but won't upload .
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Attachments are for web based pictures.

    At the bottom of the reply box next to POST REPLY you will see....

    UPLOAD A FILE.

    Click that and do as you are now...pick the files saved location, in this case GALLERY, then from the list choose the file you want.
     
  6. rich g

    rich g Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Worcester
    I have clicked on upload a file then file then gallery then upload attachments then after I while if drops down to delete
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I don't understand where this bit of the process comes from.
    After clicking the desired pic you simply click the tick at the top of the screen (android) or whatever confirmation on Windows then the file downloads automatically.

    207dc4b76b2752376bd479233bb5650e.jpg
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    The only thing I can think is the pic is in an incompatible file format....or very, very large.

    Can you resize the pic then try again.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  10. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Depending on your connection sometimes if it takes too long to upload it times out and tells you the file is too big.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,584
    Likes Received:
    11,573
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Have you got a good Internet connection where you are? You could test this by trying to watch a YouTube video. If you have a good connection try turning your phone on and off. The old trick still works!
     
  12. rich g

    rich g Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Worcester
    image.jpg This is what I get on my fairly new Samsung Galaxy,this was taken on my old iphone 4
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Looks like you are using the full version of FUN rather than the android version.
    Completely different screen layout.

    This is the screen on my android phone and same as on my samsung tab 3 after clicking UPLOAD a file

    Screenshot_2016-08-12-13-36-44.png
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Have you tried the HOW TO tutorial ?
     
  15. rich g

    rich g Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Worcester
    Yes tried the how to tutorial.
    How do I change to the Android version of Fun please
     

Share This Page