Where To Put The Controller ??

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by chippy63, May 19, 2015.

  1. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Hi all

    At newbury i bought a solar kit from solar alliance, just thinking about fitting
    tommorow as the sun's gonna shine apparantly :LOL: .

    So the thing is, in the kit have panel, controller,separate display etc, but the cable supplied
    is only 5mtrs for panel to controller & & 1mt for controller to batteries.

    searching the forum, it would seem get put the controller as close to batts as poss, but because of where the panels going front of van, batteries at back,display in middle ( has connector which plugs into controller) cable from controller to batts not gonna reach.

    So i thought is there any reason why i cannot make the panel to controller a short cable run & controller to batts a longer run.

    the kit has 140w panel & 20amp mppt controller, cable is 4mm, I thought use some 6mm from controller to batts because of the extra length.

    Ideas, comments ???
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,447
    Likes Received:
    16,879
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    In a nutshell......Volt drop.

    The panel will produce around 17 to 18volts and the controller reduces and stabilises it to 13.6 volts(ish)

    All cable has a resistance and the higher the initial voltage (17v) the less critical, so higher voltage (panel to controller) over a longer distance shouldnt affect the 13.6v output over a short distance as the input voltage is still considerably higher than the output voltage.

    13.6v over a long distance (between controller and battery) will reduce due to resistance in the long cable run before it gets to the battery so the battery wont see 13.6v.

    Panel to controller extension leads are readily available and generally are pre plugged so basically plug n play.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    6,422
    Location:
    south shields
    see nothing wrong with that... but others may disagree..
    at the end of the day if the cable is up to it the volt drop will be minimal... my controller is further from batteries than I would like but the cable is 6mmsq and does the job.
    ta andy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,447
    Likes Received:
    16,879
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Agreed......just noticed the last bit of the op regarding 6mm cable.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Thanks to you both pappajohn & andy63 for your explorations /advice, just looking on ebay & might be cheaper to
    buy a longer cable to connect display than buy 6mm cable. :D

    I will see if i can get it to reach first though


    Karl
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    6,422
    Location:
    south shields
    Hi karl,I'm taking it that the display you are on about is connected to the controller via a made up data cable...?
    I didn't buy a remote display with the controller as I had a power management panel already fitted which shows current flow and leisure battery voltages..
    What does your remote display tell you?
    Ta andy
     
  7. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham
    • Like Like x 1
  8. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    6,422
    Location:
    south shields
    Only had the quickest of looks but will read it through tonight....cause I like that sort of thing...:)
    But a quick look did indicate that you don't want to place the remote too far from the mppt controller to avoid errors in the read out...was surprised but it defiantly says that in instructions...
    Ta Andy. .
     
Loading...

Share This Page