What do I need?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jazzbow, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    West Scotland
    Howdee chums! I have a tv that works off mains and 12v. I need the lead with the cigarette type plug at the end to go in to the adapter in the photo. I have googled and googled but I'm stuck... What's it called please?

    http://sdrv.ms/XQZK8u

    Sorry I couldn't seem to attach the pic :Doh: but that is a link to it.
    Many thanks
    Dawn

    [​IMG]
     
  2. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Um, that's a mains adapter that takes a "kettle type" plug. You can't feed 12V into that.

    You need a lead that matches the 12V socket on your TV. If that box is a "mains to 12V" adapter then you want a lead that has a cigar lighter plug (or whatever kind of 12V plug you have in your van) and a plug that matches the plug on the end of your mains adapter that plugs into your TV.

    Could really do with a better picture of that plug, not the mains socket on your power adapter.

    Tim
     
  3. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    You would be best getting a voltage stabiliser such as Amperor. This would give your 12v, but stabilise the power and avoid spiking, this enables you to run off generators and the like without damaging your TV. About £25 IIRC
     
  4. PaulyP

    PaulyP Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2,991
    Location:
    Manchester
    Have a look at Kogan tv's. They do leads and msy have the one you want.
    I got 2 from them.
     
  5. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    West Scotland
    hahaha, no wonder I couldn't find it... it doesn't exist!

    http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/230794249825?var=lv<yp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y&cbt=y&adtype=pla&crdt=0&ff3=1&ff11=ICEP3.0.0&ff12=67&ff13=80&ff14=63&ff19=0
    is that what I need?

    Thanks for super speedy replies as usual :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  6. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    :Blush:
    Hard for me to tell without seeing what your plug looks like but it certainly looks similar to yours. Only you can be sure if it's the same. That said, I doubt there are that many varieties of plug and if it looks the same, I reckon you could safely order it.
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,356
    Likes Received:
    21,738
    Location:
    Narrfoook
  8. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    West Scotland
    Thanks, the telly definitely has a four pin socket, do I need to worry about the thickness of the wire now? >Think I'd be better just taking a book LOL!
     
  9. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    I think you've found the right lead (which is rated at 5 amps). Just go for it! ;-)
     
  10. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    5A should be plenty. My Kogan TV that I've just fitted is only 1.2A and even the antique it replaced was less than 3A.
     
  11. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,356
    Likes Received:
    21,738
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ahhhh... Okkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

    So, starting from scratch

    You have a power supply unit that plugs in the mains.. The output from that is 12v so you can use it ( in theory ) on the battery in the van..

    BUT !!

    The socket that the lead from the PSU ( power Supply Unit ) plugs in to is a 4 pin jobby..

    Hope thats right ?

    If so you really need someone to assist who knows what they are doing.

    I personally simply cut that lead, figure out which wires are the 12v feed and their polarity, then put a two pin non-reversible plug and socket on the cut ends, the female going on the 'live' side.

    I also make up another lead with another female on one end and a cigar type plug on the other
    That way I can use the tv on either mains or battery

    Having said all that, if the tv is only going to be used in the van there is absolutely no need to keep the original PSU as it will never be used.
    If your on hookup then the batteries are being charged anyway, so you can ALWAYS run on the 12v system :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Ooo, that sounds way complicated, and without meaning to insult anyone, probably beyond the OPs capabilities. Even though I'm pretty handy with a multimeter and soldering iron, I think I would still prefer the two separate leads option.

    Still, at least the OP now has a range of choices open to her now. ;-)

    Tim
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    West Scotland
    No offence taken! :Rofl1:

    I got this : [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008A6B89I/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1"]4 Pin type 12V 5A car / caravan cigarette lighter power: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics[/ame]

    It works fine and says that it stops fluctuations too.
    Thanks for all the responses :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page