LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I have just bought a secondhand Rapido A Class.
I want to give it the full treatment using my da, I do my car and friends

Just like to know what I should buy for polishing then I can get some Col 476 on her.

Ta

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
Have a read of the detailing section, loads of good info there from Charlie and others

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
As suggested Charlie is your man for product advice but just remember that the Rapido will be fibreglass sides as well as the front and rear mouldings in fibreglass I think so keep the surface cool, best to check on the materials of construction tough so that Charlie can advise properly.

Martin

cornish boy

Free Member
Jul 24, 2016
Body in Hampshire, heart in Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon Tiki 669.
Exp
not so newbie anymore - since 2016
Be mindful that when using a DA you can stall the disc and end up making a right mess on GRP.

You need to be really clear in your own mind about what you are trying to achieve when polishing GRP as that informs you as to the method and consumables you need to use.

If you are just looking to just tweak the surface to increase UV protection and add shine then you need very light cut compound verging on a glaze. I would use a foam pad on my forced rotation DA but know plenty who would use a lambswool pad on a rotary.