Turbo Retrofit

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by OddSocks, May 17, 2014.

  1. OddSocks

    OddSocks Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Went through a pile of receipts which were in a bag in the MH when we purchased her. Found the receipt for the turbo. The van is 1990, the receipt is dated 1999. It details the make and model of the turbo, and also before and after BHP. It shows them as 62bhp before and 112 bhp after. I find this remarkable for 2 reasons. It was listed as having 79 bhp I thought, to be at 62 after 9 years o light use seems odd. And also - They more than doubled the horse power?!!? :Eeek: No wonder it goes so well! lol And there is me trying to get an extra couple of miles to the gallon with fancy tweaks! lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    The 62bhp was probably measured at the wheel, including transmission losses. Diesels are completely anemic without a turbo. Hence why it is just about impossible to buy one without a turbo these days. Petrols don't need them quite so much.

    I hope you've told the insurance company about the turbo...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    30,894
    Location:
    Lancaster
    My Fiat 2.5 is supposed to have a turbo.....But there isn't one there! however, it goes really well, acceleration in 5th on the motorway is very good. Really struggling to see what a turbo could do to improve performance for this 2.5. :Confused:
     
  4. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    Are you sure it isn't there? A typical diesel turbo is really quite tiny, not like the massive things you find on souped up petrol engines.
     
  5. sadlonelygit

    sadlonelygit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    forest of dean
    i notice you claim to have a hymer camp 2.5 TD
    guess what the T stands for?
    AKAIK early citroen/pug 2.5 were non turbo, i know cos i had one, but FIAT came later and had a different motor which was always blown.
    if yours IS sans turbo, i doubt you'll be going up too many hills faster than 40
     
  6. RS_rob

    RS_rob Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    604
    Location:
    Turnford
    It will be a low boost turbo buried low down in the exhaust down pipe :thumb:
     
  7. RS_rob

    RS_rob Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    604
    Location:
    Turnford
    Want more:
    Air intake cone filter
    Shorten exhaust to a sport style
    Tweak the waste gate
    up the cetane rating

    :BigGrin: :thumb:
     
  8. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    30,894
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Well, the Hymer started out with a 2.0 ltr Petrol Engine. At some point it got a diesel in it. The V5 says 2.5 TD, but there is nothing between the cast manifold and the resonator box except pipe.
    So, it's manifold, cast section, (four bolt fitting) bend, then pipe. The turbo is supposed to be where the cast bend is, but it's not there.
    Oh, and do tell me what the 'T' stands for, is it TIT?
    By the way, not all 2.5 Fiats were Turbo cos I got one.
     
  9. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    479
    Location:
    London SE

    TIT stands for Turbine inlet temperature :Eeek: sorry couldn't resist
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. sadlonelygit

    sadlonelygit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    forest of dean
    if you have a 2.5 non turbo fiat engine...........it's an iveco.
    it's the special Touring Without A Turbo model
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    30,894
    Location:
    Lancaster
    All I know is that it says FIAT on the rocker cover, the engine number matches that of a 2.5 Turbo, (this from Fiat UK), and all the parts, (pump, fuel filter housing) conform to the workshop manual description and schematics.
    So maybe it is just a 2.5 turbo with no turbo?? It's pre CAT, and MAP, so why not??
     
Loading...

Share This Page