Tour Guide Wanted Southern Ireland (1 Viewer)

Oct 20, 2018
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
Chausson Odyssey 92
Exp
I’m a newbie and lovin’ it.
Hello, we would really like to hear from/speak to any Funsters who can give advice and recommendations for visiting southern Ireland. We leave in about 5 weeks time, we have only 2 weeks for our holiday and don't really want yo drive long distances every day, every other day is fine though 🙂.

We sail into Dublin at 6pm, so need a campsite quite near there as that will be the end of a long day.

Any recommendations welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
We was there this year for three weeks. Enjoy :drinks:

On this latest trip to Ireland It was suggested we should complete the Atlantic Way.
A planned route is far too organised for us although we did keep finding we was on the Atlantic way but it does cover the whole of the West coast for 1600 miles.
Many routes in Ireland can get pretty narrow and naggery and that is the charm, the people are so patient and courteous it’s never an issue. Our Motorhome is just 7mts but was never a problem - except when a stone wall disguised as grass bank got me
There is some fabulous scenery and very unusual landscapes
Basically we meandered between visits to towns on the way to overnight stops on the coast. There is hundreds of harbour's piers and dock all over the west coast and even on the lakes. We searched out a local one near too us every night on Park4night especially if we needed water or the cassette needed emptying. We had absolutely no reason to book onto a campsite.
The roads are mostly quiet bur do not drive in Dublin, the traffic is horrendous, catch a commuter train in to the city. Any of the other bigger towns are also worth a visit but they are all very busy. There is a short stretch of Toll motorway around Dublin. It is very cheap but we avoided it because of the need to find how to pay