Dec 8, 2015
Cambridge
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello

Can anyone help in laymans terms (we are not very technical!)? We are thinking of going solar and probably need something that will charge our leisure batteries as well as running few low wattage appliances i.e. Slow cooker low wattage halogen etc. Is this realistic and what size of panel and type of inverter would be needed? Does anyone know of a company in France or Spain that could fit it?

Thanks

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Hi Jackie

Slow cooker OK on a sunny day but not sure about halogen hob, whatever watts the 240v equipment says divide this by 12 and that tells you the amps it will take from your batteries, for example 1200watts would take 100amps from your batteries OK for a couple of minutes but not too long.

Your solar has to go into the batteries and then run your appliances via a inverter, so the batteries just store the power.

How big is your battery bank?

Martin

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
Hello

Can anyone help in laymans terms (we are not very technical!)? We are thinking of going solar and probably need something that will charge our leisure batteries as well as running few low wattage appliances i.e. Slow cooker low wattage halogen etc. Is this realistic and what size of panel and type of inverter would be needed? Does anyone know of a company in France or Spain that could fit it?

Thanks
If you are planning to make a bit of use of an inverter to run stuff like slow cooker etc you would need to look at your battery bank capacity as well as the means of keeping it charged.
Relatively high discharge rates from a small battery capacity will shorten the life expectancy of your batteries.. larger battery bank will cope better with the higher discharge rates..