Solar panel problem

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by Munchie, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi, had two 80w panels fitted last year by Mark (C.L.S.) and very pleased we are too.

    Now the problem, a few times I have looked at the regulator it has shown an "E6" fault which according to the manual means "no panels fitted". :Eeek:

    We are doing OK with them so far, at the moment 3 weeks away with virtually no sunshine although getting close to the bone now.

    What worries me is, how often is the fault shown when I am not looking? Also are they charging when the fault shows?

    Any ideas folks? :Smile:
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    I'm sure I've heard of this fault before...but not sure where.

    IIRC the solution was that the regulator was faulty and needed replacing.

    Bryan
     
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Bryan, that is what is worrying us. Steph has PM'd Mark but no response as yet hence me asking the question here. :cry:
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,417
    Likes Received:
    25,074
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Well you know that they were fitted, therefore they have been stolen.
     
  5. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Har Har :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  6. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    5,555
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Hi Ken
    have you a multi meter with you??
    would suggest you measure voltage before and after the regulater when no code is showing, and again when code is present.
    that will indicate if faulty reg is interfering with charging:thumb:
    as a Bodge work around if you get desperate and pannels prove to be OK you could bypass reg for short intervals to top you up. :Blush:
    or simply obtain a new one locally,wireing them in is a very simple task as its like for like conection wise
    Geo
     
  7. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Geo, son and heir (ha ha) who is is a leccie left me two cracking multimeters when he went to Aussie. Pity I am too thick to use them, or too idle to learn. There's a thought how about an "Idiots guide to multimeters meet"?

    Only had them fitted a year ago so will wait and see if Mark responds. Did mention it a while ago to him but forgot to get him to check it out at the Bring n Buy. Thanks for the tips though.

    P.S. don't have them with me. Dohhh :Blush::Rofl1:
     
  8. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    laneside

    Hi

    Do you require a Kipor for the next few days, just shout if you do.

    Alan
     
  9. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Alan, but I think we will be OK. If I get stuck I may shout. Fault has shown before and tends to disappear after about 30 mins. Worst case I will buy a new regulator when I get home. But being a "canny" Scot I am hoping Mark will come to the rescue. :thumb:
     
  10. cyclingdoglucy

    cyclingdoglucy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lancashire
    2nd hand panels


    i have 2 for sale on e-bay if you want 2 bid ?,
    or i will bring them 2 malvern?:RollEyes:.
    mr bean
     
  11. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    got a link?
     
  12. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Now I am really getting worried. Looking at regulators to get an idea of prices I came across mine as shown below:-

    STECA

    PDF
    PR1010 120W or 10A

    This is shown as a MAXIMUM of 120w 10amp for the 12v system.
    I have two 80w panels so 160w. Does this matter or am I missing something? :Eeek:
     
  13. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Hi Ken,

    IIRC an 80 watt panel max output is approx. 4.5 amps.

    So times 2 is 9 amps so a 10 amp reg SHOULD appear fine...

    BUT

    I read somewhere that you should allow 25% extra in your choice of regulator.

    So that would be 11.25 amps - I'd go for a bigger regulator. :thumb:

    HTH

    Bryan
     
  14. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Not missing a thing you are correct it should have been a 20amp controller, the 10amp leaves no safety factor. It is a good quality regulator. Mark must have picked up the wrong one by mistake. But worry not I'm sure he will soon be in touch to fit the correct one. Problem solved.
     
  15. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    13,665
    Location:
    Heavan
    Hi Ken, I don't think Mark will be in touch any time soon. I am sure he left for holiday today, gone Spain and France for a few weeks maybe 4.
    Sure he will sort it on return.
     
  16. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,530
    Likes Received:
    25,647
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I don't want to confuse things here Ken and I would like to state from the off that I am not an expert but I have been using a solar system for some time now and I often get error signs on my Steca regulator.

    It has always been as a result of taking more out of the batteries than has been going in eventually leading to a voltage drop in the system. Mind you mine has never told me my panels have disappeared.

    Once the sun shines again everything normally goes back to usual on my gauge but sometimes disconnecting and reconnecting the battery connection seems to "reset" the gauge.

    I have three 80(ish) watt solar panels with a Steca 15amp regulator and in the uk at midday in good sun have managed once to get a reading of 12.4 amps. The readouts are not very accurate.

    I am about to replace my Steca 15 amp regulator with a 20 amp one as an expert super salesman sold me another panel for a song at Wrenbury and therefore would happily let you have my 15 amper...when the new one arrives. (You would have to become a Man City fan though.)

    Are you at Malvern?

    My guess (and it is only that) is that you are fine with your two panels and a 10 amp regulator (unless touring the Equator region) and I suspect you might have used too much leccy...

    JJ :Cool:
     
  17. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Mark is on holiday until the end of the month. I put a request for contact on his website (for a job I want doing before early September) and he responded by e-mail. Try putting a note on his website contact page. He has responded to me a couple of times, but it may take a day or two.

    Philip

    http://www.central-leisure-services.co.uk/
     
  18. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,661
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi, thanks for all the advice and offers. We have decided to visit Maplins when we get home and buy a bigger regulator.We are undecided whether to get one big enough to take a 3rd panel if we decide to put another one on. In saying that, this is our 3rd week away with cloudy/rainy weather and we are OK. Haven't really had to cut down on our usage so hmmmm. Anyhoo that is what we shall do, management has spoken :Eeek::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
Loading...

Share This Page