Snipe 2 Satellite Dish.

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by sennen523, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. sennen523

    sennen523 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy, North
    Hello All, I'm thinking of buying the Snipe 2 dish with single LNB.

    Has anyone got one of these, would appreciate ANY advice problems etc.,

    Regards, Al. sennen523.:unsure:
     
  2. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    A single LNB is kinda yesterdays news, but it depends what you want to do with it? If your just going for freesat with no recording facility then it's never going to be a problem. However, if you get down the road a bit & want recording ability, you'd have the whole thing to replace.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Enword

    Enword Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    Devon
    Watching with interest.
     
  4. Billy23

    Billy23 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    On a planet...far, ....far away.
    I have one works well for me. Never thought or wanted to record whilst on holiday so single lnb is fine.

    The Snipe 2 is better made than the first one I am told.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Had been having problems with the normal aerial not getting many channels so had a Snipe2 fitted in August and use it with an Avtex TV with built in Sat.

    Really please with the system, quick to setup and put down, easy to get updates from internet...and really easy to change satellites with so you can watch the Grand Prix on RTL when it's not on Channel 4!!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Billy23

    Billy23 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    On a planet...far, ....far away.
    Richard would you be kind enough to let me know which box you use as mine are old and I need to get a new one.

    Cheers
    Bill
     
  7. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    I don't, I use it with an Avtex TV that has a built in sat receiver - although I have tried it once with my Sky box and it worked fine
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    We've not had the Snipe 2 long, but impressed with it so far for he coin. We also use it with the FTA receiver in our Avtex tv, no need for a separate satellite receiver box (e.g. Freesat) if you can live without the full EPG.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. ukdw

    ukdw Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Essex
    I also have a single LNB Snipe 2, and either direct connect it to an Avtex TV (to watch RTL for the F1 like RichardB, with the IPAD F1 App for Audio) or connect it to a single LNB Humax HB-1000S (with attached hard disk) for recording and advert skipping. Have only used it a few times so far (more often at home for the F1 than away) and as we don't watch much TV while away I haven't found having a single LNB a problem.
    I use a Manual F connector switch to swap between the TV and PVR.
    Compared to a manual dish on a tripod it is a massive improvement - the only real issue I have had is having to pick pitches at campsites more carefully, to make sure trees do not get in the way.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. lincolnshire lad

    lincolnshire lad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    lincoln
    Got a twin lnb snipe 2 and use it with a humax recorder on a small invertor all great
     
  11. ericroy

    ericroy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Fitted our own Snipe 2 and we are well pleased with it.

    You need to be aware that they presently seem to be issuing software upgrades every month and you have the option of downloading these from the maker's website and transferring them via a USB stick onto the controller to upgrade it. I have done so a couple times but there is no information (that I have found) to say what the changes are!
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
Loading...

Share This Page