Sky question

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by lorger, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi all just a wee question for you T V experts. we where away for the weekend and took the Sky box from the house as we normally do, due to the amount of trees around us we couldn't get a signal so thought no problem we can watch the recorder stuff on the box. It wouldn't work is it me being thick or do you need a signal to watch recorded stuff i assumed once it was on the box it would be possible to view at anytime.

    Gerry
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I thought the sky+ boxes were nowt more than a hard drive storage device....cant see why you should need a satellite signal to watch something on a hard drive :Eek!:
     
  3. Pikey Pete

    Pikey Pete Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Location:
    o
    You do need at least one signal input for the box to work.

    That's just the way it is. It is Sky after all.


    Pete:Cool:
     
  4. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    They need a signal from the satellite to watch recorded material. Its so the card entitlements can be checked to make sure your subscription allows you to watch that channel.

    If i rememeber correctly, or unless it has changed, this may only be for Sky pay TV channels, and not FTA channels.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    Can't say if you need a signal but they are clever little boxes and Sky are grasping bar stewards.

    About a year ago I decided to cancel Sky Movies. Before doing so I filled up the Sky+ with a load of recorded films. After I had cancelled I wasn't able to watch the films I had recorded off Sky movies only those I had recorded off the free channels.

    They must encrypt them or something.:Sad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    It will be because your subscription is not longer for Sky Movies, so you cannot watch Sky Movie channels, either live or recorded.
    You cant watch something that you do not subscribe to - even if you were subscribing at the time you recorded.
     
  7. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    I gathered that yes but I still think its a con.
     
  8. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Thanks for the reply's, just so you know i was unable to watch the FTA programmes that i had recorded also will just have to make sure we pack some dvd,s then.

    Or is there any way once i recorded them to my sky box i can download them to my pc or can i record using skygo so it is saved to my laptop hard drive instead.

    Thanks Gerry
     
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    9,627
    Location:
    Dorset
    • Like Like x 3
  10. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
  11. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    9,627
    Location:
    Dorset
    standalone DVD recorder or VHS or with some fiddling and a video capture dongle, you can use a laptop.
     
  12. gillnphil

    gillnphil Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    3,406
    Location:
    West Suffolk
    Its true, you need a signal so sky will allow skyplus to work. They are clever little sods.
    Give up sky and buy a humax box. its freesat HD hard drive recording and works a treat for free.
     
  13. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Thanks big1 sounds to complicated for me will stick to dvd's :Rofl1:

    Yes i agreee gilnphil but im still to find a freesat box that will give me live Scottish football and live Golf if you could recommend one id buy it tomorrow.
     
  14. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    Live Scottish football Gerry?

    My first thought was you must be a glutton for punishment.

    My recollection that you run marathons for fun just confirmed it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    I didn't say i watched it i just like to have it as a threat to Sophie if she misbehaves she has to watch a full match :Rofl1::Rofl1:

    I also cant remember saying running a marathon was fun :Rofl1::Rofl1: so thinking of doing a double one to see if its double the fun
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page