Should I get this Fiat Ducato 2.8TD 1999 - fifth gear too far over?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Carmella, May 14, 2016.

1. Carmella

Carmella Read Only Funster

Hi everyone, a newbie here looking forward to being part of this fab community! I'm looking for some advice please. I'm searching for my first motorhome and tried one today that ticked all the boxes except the gears didn't seem quite right (and it needs its timing belt replaced). Anything that's wrong with it I can use to negotiate a better deal but I need to know if these issues may be something serious and very costly before getting back to the owner.

The main issue; Fifth gear was waaay over to the right, so much so that your hand touched the indicator stick. Seller didn't have anything to say about this, just said it's something you have to get used to. Anyone else had this? Can it be fixed and for how much? It's really putting me off what otherwise seems a perfect vehicle!

The gears crunched sometimes when I changed them, and seemed a bit 'sticky'. The seller said that I needed to let it rev longer before changing. When he drove it, they didn't crunch.

Any feedback most welcome, would you buy this? : )

2. f6c

f6c Funster

Welcome aboard;) Wait and our savey funster will be able to advice.

3. Carmella

Forgot to say its due its MOT next week, seller is putting it through.

4. Carmella

Thanks f6c, this is an excellent site. I'm hooked!

5. davidbaldam

davidbaldam Funster

Hi and welcome to FUN, the 5th gear, being an add on, has a great many variants. Most need warming up usually by driving about 5 to 10 miles in 4th to get the oil circulated. Hope you get yours sorted to your satisfaction. :)

• Like Like x 1
  6. RichardB

RichardB Funster