Satellite tv

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Apr 15, 2013.

1. chaser

chaser Funster

2. RogeTeri

RogeTeri Read Only Funster

I'm no expert! But have been considering options for Europe. Problems seem to be:

Where in Europe you planto go, Spain and Portugal will require around 120 dish

Changes due to Astra footprint. May become narrower in future and result in no or poor reception further from UK

I'm at Peterborough show this week so will let you know if I can get better information for you.

3. callumwa

callumwa Read Only Funster

A portable dish on a tripod will give a perfect picture however this one is very expensive.....
    I used to use an old sky dish on a tripod. The tripod cost me £15.
    A sat box can be bought for £20 or £30, a 12V HD Box for £50. I used an old sky Box so total cost to me for this type of system was £20.

Without the box you can buy this dish, tripod, quad LNB and cables with connectors for £40.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ZONE-1-PORTABLE-SATELLITE-DISH-KIT-SYSTEM-WITH-CAMPING-TRIPOD-QUAD-LNB-BNIB-/360636876750?pt=UK_ConEle_SatCableFreeview_RL&hash=item53f7a207ce

add a http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Grundig-Freesat-SD-Satellite-Freeview-Receiver-Set-Top-Box-Replacement-for-Sky-/310429543603?pt=UK_Sound_Vision_Satellite_TV_Receivers&hash=item48470aecb3box

Total cost for this system £65... If you want a signal meter you can buy one for a couple of pounds, but after a few practices you will not need one....
    As to how far south in Europe you can receive a signal will primarily depend on the dish with whatever system you buy.

We now have a Road Pro Dome on the roof. Perfect on a rainy day, as at the press of a button its working within 30 seconds, without faffing about in the rain. More expensive of course.

:BigGrin:

4. Touchwood

Touchwood Funster