Satellite System will not connect to TV - any ideas please

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by the stig, Jun 5, 2016.

  1. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    even if it's stating the obvious, as I am fast running out of ideas, we have got a new to us Winnebago with a DVB Satellite Receiver system, UFS 740sw Kathrein.
    We have only had this a couple of weeks, and try as I might I cannot get the satellite dish to go up, it seems to me that it just doesnt seem to be talking to the TV.
    I have tried: re booting the system, first installation, different scart lead, restored to factory settings.
    The TV was not in with the Minnie Winnie when we bought it, so unsure of how it was configured previously.
    Any help/input very gratefully received, as I am fast loosing the will with this B****y thing!!!

    thanks
    Jeff
     
  2. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,587
    Likes Received:
    10,013
    Location:
    Dorset
    as I recall you put the dish up from the control panel and lock onto satellite and then use tv decoder and tv to view channels. not like the motorised systems on houses where you turn on tv, change channel and the dish moves to correct satellite

    oh and somewhere at the back of my mind I recall the older katherine systems cannot be updated to the new satellite positions
     
  3. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    thanks for that, but there is nothing on the control panel that indicates for the dish to go up, there lies my problem
     
  4. CherryPirate

    CherryPirate Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Hants
    There would be a separate control panel for the dish. Is it automatic or manual? Do you know the make?

    Colin
     
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,133
    Likes Received:
    6,109
    Location:
    West Sussex
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Hi Colin, there is no separate control panel for this system, it is automatic
     
  7. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    thanks Lenny, i have got the manual, and i have sat and read it and re read it and still cannot find why it wont go up!
     
  8. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2,935
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Maybe I'm off track here but ............... the manual is for a UFS 740sw Kathrein satellite receiver. There is no mention of the aerial/dish used and I wouldn't expect there to be in the receiver manual. Do you know what type of dish you have? It is very unlikely to be the same make as your receiver.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,873
    Likes Received:
    1,922
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Kathrein normally are supplied with their own dedicated receiver/controller box, there is no other decoder in the system.
    I would speak to Roadpro who sell Kathrein systems. It may be that you have an older model that needs a firmware update if that is still possible. (The UFS 740 is not listed on the Kathrein website).
    Home - RoadPro
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Barclaybasher

    Barclaybasher Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    7,285
    Location:
    Derby
    Could you contact the previous owner ?
     
  11. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2,935
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    I'd assumed that from the OP until I read (skimmed) the manual. It includes detailed instructions on mounting the receiver but no mention anywhere of dish installation or control.
     
  12. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    11,614
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    The Kathrein is two bits the CAP 900 on the roof and the control unit the USF bit inside

    Press "1" on the remote to raise the dish once the Kathrein is turned on
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. SuperMike

    SuperMike Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    St Albans
    Or, if Eddies instructions do not work, I find remarkable results can be achieved, with a 10lb lump hammer. :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    thank you all, I have spoken with Auto Mate this morning, and as a follow on he advised me to ring Road Pro, which i have done, and they talked me through it, so dish now up!!! but still issues with getting the pair to talk, so I have just come back from getting new HDMI leads etc, so will replace all them and fingers crossed!
     
  15. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    I have tried, but no reply, so I am assuming he must be away. I have spoken to him previously for other issues, its all a great bit of kit on board, its just understanding it!
     
  16. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Grimsby
    it is a complete package
     
Loading...

Share This Page