Satellite experts out there?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Nirvanauk, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    6,450
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Hi,
    Have just purchased a multimo satellite dish from fleabay (why, oh why did I do that?) and spent the last 4 hours in the cold with my wife trying to set it up with absolutely dismal results! I have read and retread all the instructions from multimo, the sat finder, road pro and marlin to no effect. If I put the finder in line I get a signal that isn't very stable but shows 73% however when I try and tune the receiver in I get 0% no matter what I do.
    Assuming the receiver is good (I get all the correct info on the tv) and the cables are good (they are new) then that just leaves the dish that I bought on fleabay as being faulty.

    Is there any way that I can test the LNB?

    Any ideas please?

    Cheers
     
  2. BwB

    BwB Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Brandon Suffolk UK
    Is it a manual or automatic seeking dish?

    If manual it sounds like you're pointing at a satellite but not the right one.

    I'd check the receiver box first to make sure it's set to the right satellite you want. Then have another go at pointing the dish. Sounds like you're about right in the up and down just need to go left or right to get the right satellite.

    I'm no expert, but this is what I find. Get a good signal on the sat finder but none on the box. Move the dish a bit to the right and bingo.
     
  3. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Are you sure you are pointing at the correct sat. It is VERY easy to pick up Astra 1 by mistake. If you sat finder picks up a signal but no picture I would check this first. Astra 2 will be slightly lower down & to the East.

    PS I use this site to get the correct Co Ords. http://www.dishpointer.com/
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
  4. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Location:
    UK / Spain
    Hi, we have the Arcon much like yours, very easy to set up and used in the UK and France and works like a 60cm, just keep practising once you get the hang of it, you will say the same.:Wink::Rofl1:

    Keep away from trees, and you will get there in the end. :BigGrin: Great little dish. :Smile: Bob.
     
  5. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    We have a Sky box , but I always set up using the cheapo Aldi box as it indicates which sat you are on, as others say sounds like your on Astra 1:thumb:
     
  6. nifty fifty

    nifty fifty Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    norwich
    i had a multimo.
    once you get the nack of setting up they are good. two points might help
    make shure there is no damage to metal dish.to explain i twisted the dish slightly so lnb was off centre never got signall untill straighed it out

    i allso made up used a suction mount to clamp to side of van made things a lot easyer only a few mins to set up after that

    hope that helps


     
  7. davaud

    davaud Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    hi have the same problem last week tried to set the dish up in the garden which is quite enclosed after an hour just plonked it down and went in for a brew came back and it was done sometimes if the area is bad you need to just wait a minute or two for it to tune in
     
  8. phil1946

    phil1946 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    2,448
    Location:
    South coast of England
    I do not know if your satellite box has a services page, SKY ones do, and I always use this and not a satellite finder as they can find many that you do not want. I stand where I can see the two (strength and quality) bars on the TV and I always swing the dish from East. Yes I know the wise guys say West but then it is not the first satellite you come to, from East it is the first. Get the up/down angle about right and come in from East moving the dish a fraction and stopping to give it time to lock on. When the strength bar begins to show and the box says locked on you can fine tune the up/down.

    Have a look at http://www.satelliteforcaravans.co.uk/

    but remember to come in from the East!

    I find that if I cannot get locked on in two minutes something is wrong - usually a tree! Have a cup of tea and start over and it normally gets easier. Of course if someone else on the site has their dish up, or you can see one on a nearby house, it is permissible to cheat.
     
  9. blamehofman

    blamehofman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Northumberland
    When I got my portable Maxview system had loads of problems getting the thing to work , eventually after a phone call to their helpline the coaxial cable was blamed and they dispatched a new one , have had no problems since . So a new cable can be faulty .
     
  10. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    As a dedicated non-watcher of TV, i am always fascinated by the immense amount of effort put in to get a satellite signal. I assume people see it as a challenge, as it's pretty unlikely there will be anything worth watching at the end of it. :BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Your right! it is a personal challenge to find the satellite, and as you say 200 channels of crap when you find it:Eeek:If it wasn't for BBC2 & Discovery Channels I would not bother:thumb: and in HD even clearer crap.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    6,450
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Thanks to everyone that offered advice. Planted the dish in my field next to the house, ignored the sat finder just looked at the tv for signal strength and quality, soon locked on to Astra 2 . It was a bit more difficult finding Astra 1 just so I can watch the grand prix on rtl this weekend. I did find that the vertical elevation had to be put up quite a bit but it is now firmly (ha!) wedged in place with a few twigs.!
    Thanks again.
    Paul
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    Pleased to hear your now sorted, but best advice I can give for future use is to turn the dish very slowly. So many times ive sat and watched people getting frustrated trying in vain to tune in a dish. The decoder box takes a second or two to respond, so if you turn the dish too fast, you miss the signal. The smaller the dish basically the slower you move it
     
  14. acdctv

    acdctv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midlands
    Very true about the dish movements, the Easyfind kits help somewhat but as you already have a receiver you would be well advised to check if where you are located requires you to skew the LNB, (often it can be as much as 1/5th of a turn), we've wasted hours moving dishes when it was actually the LNB which needed turning. This also fixed our home set-up as well which could not get a decent signal on vertical signals but was ok on horizontal ones. Well worth checking.
     
  15. con-tiki

    con-tiki Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Just got a new automatic sat dish....May have a problem testing it out!!!! :Rofl1:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. bullrush

    bullrush Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    gosport
    Multimo Dishes

    Yep I had simular results when trying to set it up. I gave up and sold it, I just could not tune it in, useless.
    I then purchased a Sat dish fron my local tv man and converted it to mount on a pole attached to my camper cycle racy with a quick release .........the result.... easy to set up and remove so WHY bother spending £150 plus when a simple £30 dish will do
     
  17. Bluemooner

    Bluemooner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    I used my Multimo for the first time this weekend stuck it on the roof worked straight away through a Sky box
    :thumb:
     
  18. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    7,866
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Anyone want a an Aldi Sat system?:BigGrin:

    It comes in a plastic case, has a free-to-air 240/12V receiver with remote control, a suction mount, what appears to be a tow frame mount (for a caravan), a 40cm dish, a flat cable to exit a window or skylight and lots of coax.
    Everything works well, in fact it was last seen in action at Hagger's bring and buy meet!

    We are in West Norfolk and will be at Newark this weekend!:thumb:

    £35.00 ONO!
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  19. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    We have had an Arcon dish ( similar to multimo ) for a few years now and get a fantastic signal and easy set up. You needto be aware that the elevation on these dishes is greater as the lnb is not offset the dish points at the satellite. Then come at Astra 2 from the East.
     
Loading...

Share This Page