Satelitte Reciever

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by drago35uk, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. drago35uk

    drago35uk Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    My existing Pace small Skybox is on it's last legs and needs changing. I don't want another Sky unit but what can I replace it with? Needs to use a magic eye as it's kept in the wardrobe.
    Also would be nice to use multi satelittes as well as Astra 2.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance
    Mike
     
  2. niggle

    niggle Banned - Rule 1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    SOUTH AND FRANCE
    oyster 81 sats to choose from , look on www.oystersat-tech.co.uk
    not cheap but the best had the system for 7 years no probs at all :thumb::thumb:
     
  3. drago35uk

    drago35uk Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    The Oyster Sattelite system is fine, it's just the Freesat Box bit that needs changing.
     
  4. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,716
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Most of the boxes are much of a muchness, with a good many just being a badge job of the same thing..

    For instance, had cause to open a Maxview one last summer to repair it .. Identical inside to my old Aldi special which cost £39.00 complete with a portable dish and all the other paraphernalia
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Any FTA (free to air) sat box will do the job.. check Maplins

    if you get a Freesat box it will also work and they can be tuned to other FTA services .. but if you want Europe wide on any satellite go for a FTA box.
     
  6. drago35uk

    drago35uk Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Needs to work with a magic eye though?
     
  7. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
  8. drago35uk

    drago35uk Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Huddersfield
  9. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    My Zehnder box is fixed in the old TV cupboard (underneath the Camos control box) but the TV pugs into a socket in the settee base - about a 3 metre cable run. It was fitted by Dave Newell and I think he used a scart to phono connector to run a cable down to the TV socket as in the image.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    boy, you're a hard man to please... :Laughing:

    another suggestion .. use a Scart to RF modulator

    [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Universal-Scart-Coax-Video-Modulator/dp/B000M6SMKW/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1328188997&sr=1-1"]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Universal-Scart-Coax-Video-Modulator/dp/B000M6SMKW/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1328188997&sr=1-1[/ame]

    They also have 12v FTA boxes with RF output .. dunno about magic eyes tho .. i'm all googled out ...
     

Share This Page