Sat Dish Help

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by wiljoy, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. wiljoy

    wiljoy Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    926
    Location:
    Crook, Durham
    Having a problem with our satdish. Before leaving home it was fine but now on the Costa Blanca at Guardamar and it just revolves. Don't have a card and normally we can still receive all the rubbish okay. Tried all the satellites and removed all joints in case of a dry connection. Other brits on site are managing. I have a Teleco with the 80cm dish. Which satellite would you advise. Can anyone help please.
    Thanks, Wilf
     
  2. TerryL

    TerryL Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    North East
    Lots of threads about this particular problem. Generally you won't pick up any UK TV in Spain unless you've got a Sky box (and subscription/card). The others are probably tuning to a different satellite but still unlikely to get UK TV. Why not go ask them?
    Sorry, can't be of any more help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As standard the Teleco system uses a rather middle of the road LNB..
    To stand any sort of chance you will need to change it for something way better ( the lower the stated dB number the better .. I use a 0.1 )
    Even then as already said, you will need a sky box and card and chances are very high you still will not get any BBC or ITV channels

    Whilst down in southern Spain we got the full package ( 80cm Oyster ) from Sky apart from the beeb and ITV channels
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bernardfeay

    bernardfeay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bolton
    I can't help except to say I think you are describing a fault with "finding" the satellite in the first place rather than failing to get programs because of subscription issues.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Voyger1010

    Voyger1010 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    UK
    Just revolving means that its not locking onto any satellite, try Hotbird at 13 degrees east of south. Check your line of sight and all aerial connectors from and to dish, controller and receiver. failing that you may have an internal problem
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Offagaingr8

    Offagaingr8 Funster

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cheshire / Algarve
    I had the same problem with my Teleco flats at 85cm twin lnb.always found a sat in Algarve, the problem was the cables had not been fitted correctly when transferred from previous motorhome and had twisted and snarled,had to be replaced on return to uk, hope your problem is not the same.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,996
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    We always suggest to people that are experiencing satellite problems to try to acquire Astra1 As Astra1 has a footprint that spreads across Europe, if your system (any system) works on Astra1 you can normally discount problems such as bad connections and power issues.

    I agree that I would always ask what my neighbours are receiving before assuming that their getting BBC1 ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page