RV tripping house fuse

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by errpaul, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    So we have taken the plunge and sold our euro a class and bought an RV
    I've tried plugging it into the mains at home, however it keeps tripping the fuse for thw circuit that the house socket is on.
    I tried having it plugged in and then flicking the trip in tne house back on, but then this trips the switch in the RV.
    Does anyone have any clue what could be causing this, and what I can do?
    Was always fine with our other motorhomes and caravan over the years.
     
  2. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Hmm... sounds like you either have a 'short' somewhere in the wiring or you have some electrical equipment running that exceeds the max current of the circuit breakers?

    (can only be one of the two alternatives)
     
  3. DiggerJon

    DiggerJon Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    4,430
    Location:
    Dorchester, Dorset
    I had the same problem on a fifth wheel in the States. The household circuit was rated at 15 amps, the RV at 30 amps. Even though there was nothing turned on in the RV, I had to plug it into the circuit for the washing machines and tumble drier as the ordinary household circuit breaker kept tripping.
     
  4. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    I'm pretty sure everything is switched off. Correct me if im wrong but i fired up the on board generator and nothing other than lights and microwave to stand-by came on.
    Sounds like a short maybe then. Is there an easy way to find this?
     
  5. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ah so it could be because I'm plugging it into the garage which is rated too low, so try a diffent socket within the house?
     
  6. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Continental reverse polarity??????
     
  7. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    A multi meter across the pins on the outlet (with everything turned off !) should not show any continuity unless there is a short somewhere.

    As it happens do you have an alternative cable ? the fault might be there?
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I wonder if much of the electrics are still 110V and there is a massive transformer dropping 240 to 110 ?
     
  9. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    The cable is like built in so is wired directly in and wound up in a locker. I havent actually needed to use a normal hook up.
    This cable had the correct connector obviously so was installed, i would imagine, when it was imported and converted 8 years ago
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    The step down transformer is surging...a common problem.

    Turn off ALL the trips in the rv including the main breaker.
    Plug into the mains hookup socket in garage or house and switch on..
    Turn on the 120v main switch.
    Turn on each 120v breaker in turn.

    Usually the hookup will trip, when you reset that the rv mainswitch will trip reset that and the hookup will trip again and so on.
    Next time you plug in it will probably work first time.
    Mostly pot luck.

    If it becomes persistent you can buy a soft start unit which absorbs the power surge preventing false tripping.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    I'm not sure. I know there are plently on uk sockets around the van. There is air con and a microwave, but havent switched on either of these as yet
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Not that big actually Brian.
    The usual dropper is rated at 3kw....but the do surge.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    UK ring mains are usually 32amps.
    The rv at 30amps is at 120v....at UK voltage it is 15amps.
     
  14. jenny and mitch

    jenny and mitch Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    Bungay Suffolk
    Some one hasn't left the oven, water heater, air-con or anything left plugged in have they ?????
    Good luck..
     
  15. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,861
    Likes Received:
    76,260
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    RV's are famous for tripping site electrics. But Johns solutions above are spot on. (y)
     
  16. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    11,115
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Years ago when we use to mains conversions on RV's se used. Soft start relay as John refers to.

    The easiest way to do this now is to buy a soft start relay designed to go in line when installing outside patio halogen heaters.

    That will cure the problem
     
  17. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Depends who converted it in the first place, I have seen some frightening conversions including hidden yellow 110v site box's painted black with handles cut off, I would get it checked by someone like Eddie or Duncan to make sure all is good to start with, I have never had a problem with a properly converted RV though some have.
     
  18. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    There is nothing inherently wrong with a 'site' box transformer used for a conversion.. it's what I had in my RV.... yes, I occasionally suffered trips when switching on...

    if yours never trips then it is probably fitted with a soft start transformer.. or a surge limiter..

    You can retro fit an anti surge device.. I posted this on RVOC 6 years ago


    A 'properly converted' RV would not use a 110v / 230v transformer.. it would be converted to 230v .. with all new 230v appliances.. few are done like this due to costs


    The other point I made was, the type of CB fitted in a domestic Dis Board is Type B , which isn't intended for inductive loads.. ie transformers.. that is the reason it trips.. nothing to do with it being a 'site' transformer


     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2015
  19. errpaul

    errpaul Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
     
  20. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,289
    Likes Received:
    12,163
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    If I have read your posts correctly, you have only just picked this up, I would suggest talking to the seller to see if they had a similar issue, he might have your answer. Did you see it on charge?
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page