Recurring punctures on Brompton bike: how to solve the issue? (1 Viewer)

Jan 22, 2012
Wigan
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun TI 2012
Exp
My wife's back wheel on her brompton bike has had 5 punctures in 14 days. I've replaced the inner tube and even the tyre but it keeps happening. She has a bad knee so has dropped her seat into a position where there is no weight going onto the handlebars. Because of the inactivity caused by the knee problem she's piled on the weight and must be close to 15 stone. It looks to me like too much weight on back wheel is a problem, telling her this is another.

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Are you definitely clearing any thorns or grit out of the tyre when repairing, as that sounds like there is still something causing the punctures.
You could try inflating slightly harder which would help.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Ridgeway

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 10, 2012
Lausanne
Funster No
MH
NiBi Arto 85E
Exp
Since 2012
Does you’re lovely wife read MHF😳

”You’ll have to sew them back on again first” comes to mind😂

So if you’re replaced 2 out of the 3 key parts it can only be wheel related and i‘d guess Thornebt could well be right although also worth just having a look inside the rim carefully with a torch and carefully run your finger around the inside of it, plus on the rime base. A moving spoke can be hard to spot.

We’re all 5 in the same spot 🤔

Beyone that are you inflating the tyre correctly (80-90psi) ? Pinch flats may be the issue.

Zoobec

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 11, 2020
Funster No
MH
Peugeot Boxer PVC
Exp
i haven’t used it so I don‘t know if it’s any good/affects the ride etc, but could you try using foam/gel in the tyre?

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
Are you finding thorns in the tyres at all ? Is she a "nervous rider" in that she hugs the kerb/gutter where all the trash ends up ?