Recommendations for Sat Nav please

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by Madmag, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. Madmag

    Madmag Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Lancashire
    I am sorry if this is the lazy way of doing it but I have spent a while reading various posts and am just confusing myself more. We have a Tom Tom Go Sat Nav which we used when we had a caravan. We now have a 7.4m Motorhome and looking at a lot of the posts it would seem that a 'Truck' Sat Nav would seem to be a useful addition. I am reading a lot about "7 ins Chinese Sat Navs" I had a quick look on e bay and there seems to be so many of them. So... Please could someone recommend one or 2 particular ones which they have used and are happy with. It is for use both UK and European travel, mainly France,Spain and Portugal. Thanks .
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I wouldn't touch any of the Chinese ones at the moment because of mapping problems. See This Thread. The absence of the .ftr file makes them no better than your TomTom for large vehicles.

    Our favourite is the Garmin Camper 760 LMT-D that we got from Aldi last year. One of the current specials from Aldi last Thursday is the slightly smaller Camper 660. I see they still have 8 left for on-line ordering if none of your local stores have any left.
     
  3. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Snopper IMO
    I have the 7000
    Now replaced I think .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Agree with Graham on the 760 Camper (or the 660 on offer in Aldi) however others will be along who will say different.

    And you can install Garmin BaseCamp onto a pc or mac to pre-plan routes and transfer to the device.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
  5. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    If you have a tablet, pad, large phone get CoPilot Truck app. No extra hardware, plan where ever you want to, add POI's and update your hardware anytime.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Khizzie

    Khizzie Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Newbury , West Berkshire
    Snooper for me,but gave got both the xody 7" one on trial and also the Aguri ..dvr700 so will report back on the aguri later ,lots of info on Chinese one if you have a look at the sat nav threads on this forum..Roy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    The big drawback with Snooper for me is that you can't load your own sets of POIs, only those which Snooper make available for download from their site. If you have a POI set containing over 2200 entries like I do that isn't practical :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Khizzie

    Khizzie Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Newbury , West Berkshire
    Unfortunately very true but a great bit of kit I found especially in the mountains of North Wales last year
     
  9. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I can't find any single sat nav that does everything. I currently use three in the mh. A tomtom for the pois, a snooper and a chinese cheapy, navibuzz because I like the long distance routing. Set to'easy' and no tolls does it for me in Europe.
    I n my car I use the built in one for convenience, though its rubbish.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Lorryman100

    Lorryman100 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    UK/Scotland
    Currently in a bun fight with a company that sold me the snooper Ventura that would immediately switch off after powering on. As the unit has only been used 3 times I argue that at £300 It is not fit for purpose and have now as the bun fight continues and doesn't look as if it will be resolved anytime soon, purchased the Garmin ML760 which after using it should have been my first choice JMTW.
     
  11. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I would insist on getting your money back from whoever sold you the Snooper if I were you.

    Following the problems with the Noza Tec I bought a Mio Spirit 6970 LM Truck, after checking with Mitac that it should do the job. It seemed OK at first but on its first real trial it kept crashing. I got a refund from the supplier as I thought it was a software problem rather than hardware. Mitac subsequently confirmed that - it requires at least 100MB free internal memory on it but, despite me having put a 32GB card in it the software still filled up the internal memory and left the card empty. A pity because it looked as if it would be quite good.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Madmag

    Madmag Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Our Tom Tom is the caravan version, I have not tried it yet with the Motorhome but was looking for an add on or back up I suppose. Interestingly I have just been on the Tom Tom web site and they no longer do the caravan/camper version and recommend the Garmin 660 instead!! I wonder if this means they will see stopping the updates as well.
     
  13. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Your TomTom should work just as well for your motorhome as it did for your caravan. Just alter the profile to the measurements of your motorhome.

    I knew TomTom no longer did the camper & caravan unit as I had to buy a Trucker 5000 (before I found that POI support did not include icons :mad:) as a backup to the Garmin 760 recently (after the Mio failed as mentioned above). I'm surprised they recommend a Garmin though - are you sure it isn't just a post from a disgruntled user? :D

    With your TomTom and the Garmin 660 you should be well covered - at least I hope so as that is not far different from what we have now :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Madmag

    Madmag Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Just read the link provided above by GJH. All sounds like a no-no for the Chinese one. I am not technically savvy enough to start and mess with files either. Thanks for the input.
     
  15. Madmag

    Madmag Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Lancashire
    No it's actually on their site. This is copied from it.
    PLEASE READ
    TomTom No longer do a Caravan Version, We would now recommend you looking at the Garmin 660LMT D Caravan & Camper Version Here
     
  16. ****

    **** Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    463
    ^^ What she said. Here is another sat nav software you can try before you buy.

    Forgot Link :)

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cz.aponia.bor3.truck
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
  17. Serendipitous

    Serendipitous Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Devizes
    Can't go wrong with the aldi garmin. Waited it out last year and picked a 760 let-d up for £150.

    As with ANY sat nav use common sense and check your route before blindly setting off.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Madmag

    Madmag Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Had a look at the Go pilot truck app. I have iPad and iPhone so no problem but how reliable is it when using 3G etc. Does it need a good constant signal in which case how does it work in remote areas?
     
  19. Camdoon

    Camdoon Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    UK
    I have just bought a Garmin 760 and a few things are going on at the moment. CoPilot Trucker does not allow you to add your own POI's on IOS devices at the moment although that will be addressed at their next revision. Tomtom are advising buying their Trucker version not a Garmin. They do not offer free traffic for life as they are now doing on one/some mainstream models. TomTom are also changing their Iphone software so that in three years time they will start charging you a fee each year.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. ****

    **** Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    463
    It works from your GPS not data unless you want live traffic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page