RADIO

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by 2bob, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. 2bob

    2bob Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    dorset
    Hi i have a sundance l630 would it be safe to fit a radio straight from the leisure battery with a fuse in line .The l/b is under the bed at the rear so i was think of putting a radio at the back in the corner
    thx dave
     
  2. gloworm

    gloworm Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Cant see a problem with that Dave, but whats wrong with the one in front, surley you can hear it in the lounge area.

    Eric
     
  3. ericroy

    ericroy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    A couple of points to watch out for if you are going ahead with this:
    1. A lot of current radios (if not most) have two power inputs - one is connected permanently to retain settings etc, and the other is controlled by the power switch. As long as your fuse is rated appropriately, both could be fed from the same supply lead. Note that depending on the radio model, you will be probably be adding a small continuous drain on the LB but this would be less than any alarm system.
    2. Check that there is some convenient way of tapping into the battery connections that will provide good contact and security. Poor connections can generate heat and lead to unpleasant consequences. Since any fault in the cables you install could short circuit the battery, have your inline fuse as close to the battery terminal as you can get it.
    We added a habitation area DAB radio (with remote and USB) fed by a roof-mounted powered aerial and have been delighted with results.

    (A different) Eric
     
  4. 2bob

    2bob Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    dorset
    thx ericroy
    what fuse do you recon would a 5amp be ok if be
    thx dave
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Check the back of the unit.....it should state amperage.
    i would think 10 or 15 amps depending how loud you like it as Its the amplifier circuit which consumes most power.
     
  6. ericroy

    ericroy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    My radio needs 10A on the permanent supply and 15A on the switched power feed - but yours could be different depending on power rating/number of speakers etc.
     
  7. 2bob

    2bob Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    dorset
    thx you
     
Loading...

Share This Page