Rack info

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by dave jm, May 9, 2010.

  1. dave jm

    dave jm Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    york
    Bought this bike rack from fleabay the other day(not arrived yet) that fits directly onto an alko chassie..which mine is..Question is do i take it to one of those trailer companys to be fitted or a local garage...not able to do it myself due to disability anf not having the facility's.Pics show it fitted to Hymer....Dave
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      50.5 KB
      Views:
      44
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      3.8 KB
      Views:
      45
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      3.9 KB
      Views:
      43
    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      2.9 KB
      Views:
      40
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Geo might be the best one to answer that.

    Peter
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,452
    Likes Received:
    16,883
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    whoever fits it Dont allow them to drill fresh holes in the alko chassis....it will invalidate any warrenty.

    if its made for an alko chassis then it will fit in any existing factory punched holes.
     
  4. dave jm

    dave jm Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    york
    All taken on board pappajohn...from what i gather alko chassie's come in 4 different widths(could be wrong)and the width at the moment on the rack is 1.320 but can be adjusted in/out...i was just asking "Does it have to(by law)be fitted by a registered fitting company or is Joe Bloggs allowed to do it"....Dave
     
  5. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I had a rack fitted to an Alko and all I had to do to remove it was take the bolts out.
    The chassis had the holes already done as John mentioned so the rack was made to fit these and it was dead easy to bolt on, or off.
    Maybe Geo could advise as to torque settings for the bolts?
     
  6. dave jm

    dave jm Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    york
    (bump)....To the man whose name is heard in high places:shout:..Any idea/opinion Geo
     
  7. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    5,561
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Hi Dave
    Don't know how this one got passed me:RollEyes:
    No legal requirement to have it fitted by a tow bar specialist.any competent Garage will/should do it
    All the info supplied so far is correct,re warranty issues, however if holes must be drilled you have a simple decision to make
    1. Just go ahead and chance warranty issues
    2. Contact Alko for authority to do it, giving manf details etc
    I imagine all the reqd bolts etc will come with it, if not make sure the garage is aware of the quality needed and any MoT implications in fitting with the wrong ones,although there is no quality guide or check for bolt other than they cant be to small for the job, it has to look right or questions will be asked
    I don't know what area your in
    but if we can help give us a shout
    Geo
     
Loading...

Share This Page