PTS ambulance conversion electrics help? (1 Viewer)

Greenfingers

Free Member
Feb 3, 2022
Oxfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Renault Master PTS
Exp
Newbie here, wondering if anyone has experience of converting an ambulance or PTS vehicle?

I've just bought a Renault Master 3 LWB, which I am hoping to use as a multi purpose van, a day van for 5 people and 2 dogs and also as a camper for 2 people.

It was a cheapish buy with 188k miles on the clock, but it drives really well and has fairly clean bodywork. I was particularly keen on this type of van, because a lot of the modifications needed have already been done, such as rear travel seats, windows, skylight, lined interior and a lot of electric add ons. I'm not looking to go off grid for days at a time; more likely stopover at campsites over week long tours of the UK, so would prefer not to use up space with a shower room and keep the conversion fairly simple.

So I started stripping out some of the equipment today and was horrified at the amount of redundant wiring, circuit boards and so on. Of course, a lot of the Ambulance Service equipment has already been removed, but I was surprised at the number of cut wires and now realise that it will be a major headache finding out which need to be reinstated. One particular thing I want to get working is the Eberspacher heater, which shows no signs of life, along with the Genisys control panel and various other items. At least the AGM leisure battery seems okay, showing almost 13 Volts of charge. I could always run new cabling to the things I need, but seeing as the infrastructure is already there, that shouldn't be necessary.

Does anyone here have any experience with or understand these systems?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Pics of my baby attached:-

Attachments

• van1.jpg
    van1.jpg
    1,015.2 KB · Views: 87
  • van2.jpg
    van2.jpg
    1,005.7 KB · Views: 79
  • van3.jpg
    van3.jpg
    981.9 KB · Views: 81
Jan 27, 2019
Teesside
Funster No
MH
VAN CONVERSION