Power whilst driving

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by Vlad The Impaler, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    Just altered wiring to seargent unit on van,so that electrics work in rear whilst driving.Simply a matter of unscrewing unit and locating red and yellow wire on large black block connector.Cut wire a couple inches back from block connector (allowing for reconnection if required) tape ends and job done .Works on apache 2003...2005. Possibly other vans with same seargent unit.
    Thanks to Jonandshell for providing me with necessary info.

    :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  2. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Sounds like one of those classic bomb disposal movies :BigGrin:

    Wyn
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. C.L.S

    C.L.S Trader - Service & Repairs

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    49
    By doing this you can lose the step auto retracting when the engine starts , satellite dish will not lower and the fridge will not be powered by 12v.
    May be a better idea to fit a rocker switch allowing you to interrupt the ignition live feed (D+) only when required
    Hope this helps

    Mark
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Or don't have a British van and then you won't have the problem in the first place:Laughing: . Anyone know why it's apparently perfectly safe to have power to the habitation area in a Euro van but not in a British one?
     
  5. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    All is well fear not

    My step stil retracts and fridge still works on 12v as I was told it would or I would not have done it .As for sat dish can't afford a posh one mines in a plastic case in my locker waiting for the day someone shows me how to use the bloody thing properly.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,512
    Location:
    kent
    In the end we had to go for a posh one. There was only so much I could take of satellite compasses, dish angles and messing about ( usually in the rain). Tried it 4 times and never got the hint of a picture:Doh:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,250
    Likes Received:
    34,491
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    We found an easier - and cheaper - answer. Stopped watching the telly and left the sat dish &c at home for if we ever change our minds :BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Thats my solution too. I really couldn't be bothered with all that fuss and expense just to watch rubbish.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page