Phono (RCA) Adapters

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by ShiftZZ, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,885
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    I have some speakers that I want to attach to my TV, the TV connection is a Phono but the speakers are twin wire,,, is there a easy way of conneting the speakers cable to a plug?
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    34,421
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Do Maplins have anything appropriate?
     
  3. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    Lancaster
    If you don't want to solder or crimp just get a phono to phono lead, cut it in half, and join the wires to your speaker leads with connector block or tape.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. CeeJay13

    CeeJay13 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    The North of Hampshire
    Depending upon connector, most types require solder.

    One of the twin wires on each of the speakers should be marked, either with a coloured stripe, or a difference in the insulation moulding. Fit one speaker to one connector, but the marked wire to the same connection in the connector ( these wires should be connected to the speaker in the same way - say + to +.

    The reason for this polarity is the speakers must be 'in phase' i.e. Both pushing air at the same time for the same note, otherwise the sound will tend to cancel itself out - one speaker emits, while the other is absorbing. This is of course talking about each cycle of sound.

    Colours of the connectors vary, https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCA_connector, but as long as you know what is what!
     
  5. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    Will this work, as the phono output from the tv will not be amplified ?

    You need an amplifier between the tv and the speakers....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. CeeJay13

    CeeJay13 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    The North of Hampshire
    Sorry, just got back.

    You might be might there! All of my RCA connectors are inputs, but you would need to check the TV manual for the output ratings. They will probably be specified as an AV output if you need an amp. (I know where there is a good one on fleabay)
     

Share This Page