PDA's and GPS and my own maps/images

Discussion in 'Computers' started by johng, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    all, does anyone know of free software to run on my IPAQ 3970 (PocketPC 2003) - that will allow me to use georeferenced geotiffs I have access to, and also will allow my remote blue toothed GPS to work on the image too?

    I have googled for half an hour and memory map seems to do what I want but it's not free :(

    I may be going off-road soon and would like to know where i am :)


    thanks
    John
     
  2. atakd

    atakd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wirral
    You can try SeaClear GPS Navigation Software which is designed for nautical charts and I know folk who have used scanned paper charts successfully with it. The software recognises WGS84 but not sure about any OS referencing.

    Andy
     
  3. TonyIsh UK

    TonyIsh UK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have some success with Navio on my PDA (HPX2200 & bluetooth fortuna GPS) with Navio TinyStocks - Navio But battery life was so short, that I found a Garman Etrex was better, or Autoroute usung the same bluetooth gps unit.

    I was thinking of using a usb gps and a mini laptop with autoroute or memmap instead of purchasing a Tomtom

    Rgds
     
  4. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    thanks Tony, I have tt6 on my PDA, it was free too :) works well

    although my new mobile even has some sat nav on it now....

    Andy, thanks will look into that, i work for a global mapping company so have millions of coordinate systems to hand :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,423
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    There is glider software, if my memory is right CU or SEEU or something, free. Again if my memory still works you could photograph a map load .jpg and tell the software the coordinates.

    It can be done.
     
  6. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    thanks Brian, your not as bad as they all say


    :Wink::BigGrin:
     
Loading...

Share This Page