Parking at Luss car park Loch Lomond - warning! (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Nov 1, 2021
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Funster No
MH
Burstner IXEO Time
Exp
Complete newbie
Hi all, just back from only our second trip away in our motorhome. Decided to stay nearly local and travel up through Argyll to Oban.
Had a great trip until we arrive home only to find that I had a nice £100 fixed penalty notice issued by Parkingeye who seemingly run the car park on behalf of Luss Estates.
Its a huge car park which was virtually empty - probably about a dozen cars and one other motorhome at most.
Plenty of signs saying parking for an hour etc and cameras were in operation.
Had a cup of coffee then attempted to leave. Then the fun began. First of all the payment meters aren't all that obvious but we parked near the exit where we could see one. Had to input vehicle reg and must pay by card - no cash. Had trouble inputing reg and card details but finally thought I had completed the job with the required payment deducted from my card. Should have been wary as no receipt was issued but as my hour was nearly up, thought no more about it and left.
Fixed penalty notice comes with nice views of motorhome entering and leaving - 59 minutes exactly. Turns out card hadn't been charged and I've a fine to pay -£60 if I'm a good boy and pay pronto.
A quick google search highlighted that this is an ongoing problem with possibly hundred of people being caught out by these scammers. Appears that the ticket machine charges £1 which one would assume was for the hour but if you are a little as 1 minute over the recorded camera time then you are fined.
So be aware and avoid this car park at all costs. Check out what Trip adviser has to say about it. Put a right damper on our trip.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
This appears to happen a lot with these private companies running car park.